The side guy

0 28
Avatar for Onyxchuzzy
3 years ago

I could not contain the joy in me, for the first time in forever, I felt real butterflies in my tummy, I was going to finally ask her to marry me.

I met Cassandra when she was just 19 years when her parents died in an automobile accident. She decided to live with her aunt who happens to live in my compound. I was 20 at the time and I was still serving under my master. Just one conversation with her and I knew she was the one for me. Her intelligence blew my mind, her voice was angelic, her smile was a beautiful as the full moon at midnight. And when she told me that her aunt could not afford to send her to school, I decided to take it upon myself to take care of school expenses.

I was just a 20-year-old Hussler with little to his name, but my mom always taught me to invest in what I believe in and I believed in her, and so after she agreed to date me, I sent her to school. We were madly in love, there was no day she wouldn't call me to tell me how her day in school went. I was her best friend and partner. She trusted me with all her heart, she knew I would never hurt her and I felt the same way too.

We've been dating for 5 years now and I think we are both ready to take this to the next level. She's 24, working in a bank, and matured enough to be my wife and a mom.

I've been settled by my master but still struggling a bit, yet there was nothing Cassandra would ask of me that I wouldn't do for her, even if it meant using my last cash. We were the perfect couple and I was ready to make her my wife.

Today was my birthday and I was going to surprise her with the ring. I timed when she would be having a lunch break in her favorite eatery so that I'll do the magic. Immediately she entered the restaurant, I signaled to the owner to begin.

Her favorite music began to play in the stereo, I could see her blush as she began to eat her food. She was sitting across with someone, oh, that's her cousin John she always talks about and is always with. It's good that a family member is here to witness this.

And then a bottle of champagne was sent to her table, I could see the shock and excitement on her face. "Who sent this to me", she asked the bartender but I instructed him to say nothing. She looked around but I was hiding in the distance, I just wanted to stay a little and watch her smile.

And then the violinist began to play a soft beautiful song as I walked down to meet her in a red perfectly tailored suit. My heart was pounding out of my chest, I couldn't wait to begin forever with her, I couldn't wait to make her my wife.

I approached from behind her, she was just too beautiful to behold, I was already tearing up, and I asked God to give me the grace and strength to make this woman happy for the rest of her life. While all the romantic gestures were still unfolding, I tapped her from behind and called her name, "Cassy".

She startled with fear as she jumped to her feet, then turned around, stared at me, stared at her cousin, and then stared back at me, "what are you doing here shreds? I said I was going to meet you at home to celebrate your birthday". I could not understand why her mood changed but I guess it's because I surprised her. I immediately went on one knee and asked the question, "would you marry me, Cassy?" As I brought out the ring.

She looked stunned and motionless. Everyone in the restaurant began to clap as the violinist and music stopped to hear her reply. I was expecting her to hug me and scream yes, but I wasn't getting it. She was motionless, confused, and desperate to leave. She turned and looked back at her cousin, why is she looking at him, look at me damnit.

"What are you doing shreds?", She asked. That question broke me into a million pieces, how I'm I supposed to answer that? What I'm I supposed to say? What I'm I doing? Really? After 5 years all you could say was what I'm doing.

Her cousin stood up and asked her, "why is your cousin proposing to you?" 5hat was when it dawned on me, how could he call me her cousin? Is that what she was doing? Playing me? Telling everyone that I was her cousin?

"Honey, he likes to play too much", she replied him and they both walked out of the restaurant. She left me kneeling on one knee, she left me holding my bleeding heart in my hands. She shattered my very existence, 5 years, gone down the drain. I could not believe what was happening, but it finally made sense. I picked up what was left of my heart and went home, and focus on myself.

A year later, I hear a knock on my door, the rain was falling heavily outside and I wondered who it could be. I was rich now, a billionaire, and I had finally gotten over Cassy.

I opened the door to see Cassandra holding a child in her arms and crying.

"Cassy, what are you doing here?"

"Shreds I'm sorry," she said, crying bitterly under the rain and holding her child. "He dumped me, John used me and dumped me. He lied to me, he promised me the whole world, and instead, he crashed my whole world. Shreds no one could ever love me the way you do, I'm so sorry, please forgive me".

"That serves you right", I said and slammed my door.

I wasn't gonna be a side guy anymore!

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Onyxchuzzy
3 years ago

Comments