Surviving NIGERIA: A personal story of survival

0 24
Avatar for Onyxchuzzy
3 years ago

It took me a while to understand exactly what was happening, I had the meanest frown I could summon at that age. Why would anyone in their right sense drag me off, from the comfort of my mom's womb where luxury was the order of the day, to be born here, in this hot, tropic and, what's the name of the place again, NIGERIA.

In my one day old mind, though very fickle, feeble, and naive, I knew enough from conception to parturition, all I heard from mom and other people around her were complaints upon complaints, no one had one single good thing to say about the country, I was angry but that day, a day old me swore to change things for the better in my country. I could not change where I was from anymore, but I could change where I am from.

And so with the courage of an Eagle, the agility of a Lion and the wisdom of a serpent, I set out to lay the foundation for what would become a greater NIGERIA, but the truth is, those in power, those influential persons who are benefitting from the decay and corruption of the system wouldn't want it to change, worse of all, they had all the cards on their table and all I got was, my wits, my will, and my courage.

I decided to be a Soldier at the early age of 3. The ridicule we faced from other nations, western and whatnot, who came into our countries and took us as slaves, colonized us for their selfish reasons, and siphoned all we had to the point of decimation. I wanted to fight and defend my country, I wanted my blood to be part of the countless others who have died with the NIGERIAN flag on their hands and a smile on their face as they saw victory ahead.

But at age 10, after independence, I was sad, heartbroken demoralized to discover that the evil we fought was largely from within and not without. I saw people who we once called heroes turned on us and became the very thing we once fought. "The labor of our heroes past shall never be in...", I wish the writer of our national anthem was heard to see that his labor and the millions of others who died for the country was already in Vain. Then I decided to be a lawyer, to fight for the rights of those who are being trampled on, to educate others on their rights, and to get the country back on track.

But at age 16, just after high school, I discovered that the very people you are fighting for, are the very people who committed the most atrocities. The average man was as greedy as he was wicked. The average man only cared for what he could take for himself. And the elites knew this. The average man valued religion more than his life or that of his neighbors, the average man was a tool in the hands of the elites. They used us to cause war and hence continue with their corruption, while they used peanuts to instigate religious and community crises. At age 16, I decided to be an elite.

At age 21, just after college, I understood that being an elite was enough, just enough to save yourself and your immediate family, not enough to save anyone else. But this isn't the life I wanted. I want to be able to reach millions with just one speech, I wanted to make an actual difference. I didn't just want to contribute to building schools and churches after they are destroyed, I wanted to prevent such destruction. I wanted to be a doctor, to help as many people as I could. I wanted to be an engineer, to be able to develop things. I wanted to be a tech guy, to build applications that spread peace and not hate. I wanted to be so many things, but they weren't enough.

And so one night, while I laid on my bed, confused and frustrated, angry and depressed, like a candlelight in the blackness of the night, it dawned on me, to be able to change things, I needed to be at the very top of the food chain, I needed to be a politician. And so I set on the journey to becoming a politician, and I swore I would do any and everything I could to become one.

I started with paying and bribing my way to the top, I promised to confess once I started the change. I continued by lying and cheating people, deception, and spread of hate, I swore I would make everything right once I was at the top. I had to kill a couple of people, I had to soil my hands, I had to sleep with the Devil, I had to make grave mistakes, I had to turn so many blind eyes, but I swore I would make everything right once I was at the top, and finally I got to the top, but it was already too late, I was too invested in the corruption that I had nothing else to offer.

I could not change anything, for whatever I tried to change, the dirt they had about me was enough to ruin me and my entire career, my family, and everyone I knew. I was the man at the top but I answered to many masters. I was at the top with no say, no power, no freedom, I had to do as I was told or face the full wrath of the Cartels. And so I closed my eyes and became the very thing I once fought, I became that corrupt leader, that shameless bastard who stood and watched as his country dives into ruins.

But I promise you, I had the purest of intentions, this wasn't the plan, but life took away my choice the very moment I decided to soil my hands. Maybe, just maybe if I had become a soldier, I would have died an honorable man. Or if I had become a doctor, I would have still been saving lives, one at a time. Or if I was a lawyer, I would have been I prison, but a fulfilled man because I fought for the truth, maybe, just maybe if I had done my best in my little capacity.

Then and there, I understood one very important secret, no single tree could ever make a forest, no one person could change the fate of an entire nation, it takes two to tango, so it would take the will, wits, and courage of You and I, no...

It would take that of All of us.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Onyxchuzzy
3 years ago

Comments