Mr. (My) Perfect

0 9
Avatar for Onyxchuzzy
2 years ago

Don't turn Ada, don't look back

I kept telling myself as he passed right beside me, but God, his cologne scented like the oak trees of ancient Egypt, fit for a man who walked like a King of his time. His smile and confidence were second to none, should I talk about his walking steps? I think I have...

My mind was a mess, no man had ever made me take a second glance at him, but this particular man, this man dared to break that sacred oat. His chin was chiseled to perfection, his muscles, toned and well built, his skin, brown and flawless.

I took one more step forward and I felt helpless, my legs became weak, they failed me, so I came to an abrupt stop. I could not help it anymore. I mean c'mon Ada, take just one glance at him, he may be watching you, he may as well be attracted to you.

His suit, tailored to perfection, was perfect, he was the perfect gentleman. I could still hear his footsteps, gradually fading into the distance. I wanted to run to him and fall in his hands, even if it was for one second, I wanted to become a baby once more, a baby when asked to describe the man she wants to marry, I could swear that I would look into his eyes and say "Him", he is the perfect man.

And just before my neck could turn and take a glance, I heard a familiar tone call out my name, "Ada'm, Nwaoma". At this moment, I couldn't think, I had to make a choice, it was either him or HIM.

Okoro ran towards me and swept me off the floor and into his arms, he carried me like a baby and began singing praises to me in my native language, Igbo.

I smiled, Okor wasn't my textbook definition of a perfect man, he had no time muscles, he carried his pot belle with pride, his skin wasn't close to perfection, Jaw like that of a fallen mango, he dressed as though he came out from world war II era.

"Okoro you are disgracing me, drop me down", I said while blushing.

"Okoye's, Adaora's, if I don't disgrace and embarrass you with love, tell me, who will? Take this 10k just for being fine."

Okoro had very little, but even in the little he had, he made sure I never lacked anything, no wonder I married him. I smiled. And then my mind raced back to Mr. Perfect, I could hear his expensive Italian shoes fading into the distance, I knew if I don't turn back now, I won't see him again.

But I didn't care anymore, I had my superman beside me, I had someone who would burn the whole world to see me smile, I may not have Mr. Perfect, but I have MY Perfect man.

"Agu!", As I always call him, he smiled and gave me a soft kiss on my forever.

"I'm forever yours", I said...

...And the sounds of his Italian shoe faded into the distance

#Shreds

1
$ 0.05
$ 0.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Onyxchuzzy
2 years ago

Comments