Karma is indeed as real as the saying goes: This story of a Health professional tells it all

0 12
Avatar for Onyxchuzzy
3 years ago

People like me that hurt over every little thing because we are sensitive to people's actions and inactions, but easily forgives, I believe that we are the real MVPs. Let me illustrate this with a story that happened just few months ago, a story that I would keep telling until we humans learn that Karma do exist.

While I was trying to do my medicals (run a couple of test to ascertain that I was fit for a Job) some three months ago as a new medical Laboratory science intern, the Mega teaching hospital was like a new environment to me, just like my year one days, I was so lost... I couldn't decipher my left from my right and it was so frustrating seeing others found it easy except me... And I just couldn't slide along with everyone because it seemed like I was dragging them backwards. Anyways, I struggle for one whole week doing my medicals until one of those days when my head had "full" and I was supposed to see the doctor.

I met the nurse on duty and told her I wanted to see the doctor. She asked for my card and I explained I was here for medicals as a new intern (Normally, a patient is supposed to have a hospital card so as to track his folder and records in a case of previous Medical histories, this was my first time, hence I had no card). The nurse then hissed and said next, and she called on the next person.

I was like wow, what did I do. I sat down back and after she finished taking the person's vitals I went back again and smile "please, I am here for my medicals."

"Mr, go and get card and stop disturbing me."

I looked at the mean nurse, she would be my age mate or my senior with not more than two years. "Sorry ma'am," and I went out.

Spent almost the whole day looking for where to get card, finally got the card and went back to her, gave her the card. She stated at me with an odd angry face and said that I should drop the card somewhere and wait for my turn. But most people doing medicals didn't really waste time so I reminded her that it's medicals I was doing and she said I should go and sit down and wait.

So I joined the nearest queue and waited for Almost two hours before my turn reached... I gave her my card, she looked at it and said "is it medicals you are doing?' "yes", I replied. She became irritated as she told me that I wasn't in the right line for medicals, "it's not this line, go to where staffs stay And wait there".

"Ma, please where do staffs stay?" I asked. She ignored me and shouted next person again.

My heart was filled with rage but I had to control myselg. I wanted to cry, tears of anger. I just went out and asked another intern to show me what and what to do... He did and within 10mins I was done . When I was leaving I looked at the nurse well and our eyes locked, I smiled and left... Good day.

Fast forward last two weeks at about 2.37am, someone knocked on the call room door and that day I was on call. I had gone far in this sleep and I just fell asleep after working till almost 12.39am. I opened the door with my sleepy eyes and I could see the desperation on the nurse's face.

"Please are you the scientist on call here?" I used a couple of seconds to regain my consciousness...

"Yes I am... How can I help you...?".

She explained that she had a niddle prick during a surgery or something and she feared if the patient has any veneral diease, looking at the clinical presentation of the patient and she wanted me to run a quick test on her just to be sure if she hadn't contracted the disease. I told her even if the patient is positive for any veneral disease, it would not show in her blood until after say 3 months but she can bring the patient sample so we would run the test on them and if positive for any, then she should be placed on strong antiretroviral drugs. She said she didn't collect the patient sample and her ward was far, going down and coming up will be stressful and I could see she was already panicking.

So I oblidge to go to the ward with her and brought all the necessary stuffs I needed to run the test, we got to the ward, I collected the patient blood there and ran all the test there while she was at every instance asking if the patient was positive or not.

After running the test, luckily for her the patient was negative to all the veneral disease tested. I was also happy for her. She thanked me, I told her no problem and as I was about leaving she asked

"Don't you remember me?"

I turned around looked at her and smile

"I can never forget the face of the person who almost made me cry.... But I forgive you..."

And I left

That day I knew what real peace of mind meant.

1
$ 0.32
$ 0.32 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Onyxchuzzy
3 years ago

Comments