Judges

0 12
Avatar for Onyxchuzzy
3 years ago

"Why is this one eating inside Keke like he lacks home training", the elderly woman asked a much younger lady as they both stared at me eagerly munching the Fries I bought before I entered the Keke. They kept staring at me and then would whisper something about how someone would be dressed so well but lack manners especially in public places and they would both laugh at me.

To be fair, I know it was unethical to eat in public buses or Keke, and then eating the way I was eating, but why would you judge someone when you do not know their story or what they've just been through.

I could not understand Hausa, but the Keke man joined them in making a mockery of me, so out of shame and probably respect for them, I placed back my fries in my bag and ignored the burning hunger I was feeling, just to see that they stopped insulting me. But then, listen to this story...

Those days when I was still shuffling between many jobs, internships, and school just to see that I make ends meet and I was as comfortable as I could be, I had just run an overnight call at JUTH and had to run to school to write an early morning Test. Mind you, I had not eaten anything since yesterday afternoon, and at this point, I was extremely hungry but I didn't have the leisure time to eat. Immediately after the test, I ran back home, took my bath, and headed back to JUtH to complete my work and would be free by saying noon.

Sadly, I was kept back till almost 6 pm and when I thought I was free to go home, I got an emergency call from the private hospital I was covering, there was an accident victim and they needed blood. Since I was the only haemotologist/ Scientist who could issue out blood, I had to start running to the lab from JUtH. At that point, I've not eaten anything for almost a day and a half, and hunger was dealing with me.

So to pacify the hunger, I resulted in buying some fries and possibly eating them on my way to the lab because it seemed as though it was going to be a long night. While eating, that was when I met the elderly woman and the much younger one who felt I had no home training for eating on the Keke.

Anyways, just not to inconvenience them anymore, I kept the food in my bag and told myself that it is what it is.

So a funny thing happened, we dropped at the same place, in front of the hospital and we both entered the hospital, I want my way and they went their way.

On arriving at the lab and hearing the case from the lab attendant, I put on my lab coat and was ready to go to work, it was an emergency and the patient needed blood immediately. I entered the donor bay to interact with the person that was brought to donate blood for the victim.

Lo and behold, an elderly woman and a younger lady were seated in the donor bay waiting for me. When they saw me I could see the shock in their eyes, well, life indeed is a mystery.

I just removed my labcoat, brought out my food, and began to eat in peace, you two would have to wait till I'm done.

Sadly, my conscience wouldn't let me be that wicked, a patient was dying and required blood. I wore back my lab coat and began work. They kept apologizing but what has happened has happened. I narrated to them while working why I had to eat in the Keke and told them no to judge anyone because we do not know People's stories.

Well, I worked till the next morning. When I was about to leave, guess who met me to thank me?

An elderly woman with a much younger woman, holding a huge basket, containing food and many fruits.

1
$ 0.07
$ 0.07 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Onyxchuzzy
3 years ago

Comments