Grace in all situations

0 10
Avatar for Onyxchuzzy
3 years ago

There is no better way to end the year 2020 and begin a new year, 2021, than to share my story that I believe would inspire all who read it to know that, for all those who believe, everything works for their good.

I've always wanted to be a Medical doctor and also a proficient writer, but the situation of things in Nigeria, and how the educational system works, I got admitted to study Medical laboratory science, a nice course though.

I Graduated in 2017, finished my internship, and was about going for service, and I also decided to apply to Study MEDICINE, before the lockdown began.

Thankfully, I got admitted to study MEDICINE at the prestigious University of Jos and also got posted for Service, at Yobe state.

While I was making the necessary arrangements and also consulting with people on how possible it was for me to be a medical student and also do my service successfully as a medical laboratory Scientist, I had an accident that redefined my whole perspective of Grace.

Studying at UNIJOS, Plateau State, and servicing at Your State seemed like somewhat of a Herculean task. A month before my call up letter would be out, I was taking my bath and fell on the tiles, fracturing my left clavicles and narrowly escaping death by missing heating my head on the seat of the water closet by inches. I saw my life flash through my eyes.

I called for help and was rushed to the hospital, had X-rays done, and began treatment. A month after the accident, my call up letter came out, the same time school was supposed to be resuming. It was hell. This was late February 2020.

So using my accident as an excuse, I exited camp on health grounds, and then I had school to face. While trying to catch up with school and at the same time, focus on healing, the COVID 19 lockdown was imposed in March.

While it was a scare for many, it was a blessing to me. I need not worry about school anymore, I just focused on my service since I was an essential worker. Paying for treatment, drugs, consultations, and all was hectic, to say the least, and so I needed more money than what NYSC was paying.

Thankfully, I was introduced to opera news at that time. My first months weren't so good as I was basically using one hand to type and also got my articles rejected countless times. But as they said, we learn from our mistakes. And so, having more time to myself, courtesy of my accident, I wrote more articles, read other people's articles, read the rules, and finally got a hold of how opera works.

I finally had enough to sustain me throughout the lockdown. I wouldn't necessarily say the accident was a good thing, but it set a precedent for good things, that I would have said if I hadn't had the accident, I may not have had those. Also, the love from the person who introduced me to Opera, and also the prayers of family and friends have kept me going.

As I said, all things do work for good, for those who believe. I hope the new year brings forth more blessings than we could ever imagine.

I'm finally healing, but since it's a bone fracture, it's slow but steady.

Thank you.

2
$ 0.23
$ 0.23 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Onyxchuzzy
3 years ago

Comments