Forgiving and forgetting; the grace of a lost child

0 20
Avatar for Onyxchuzzy
3 years ago

"How dare you come to my house after all these years?", I stared at the woman whom I used to know as my mom. She looks pale, tired, and at the end of her road. But I don't care anymore, I was done with her.

"My daughter I'm sorry", but before she could complete those words I had been waiting to hear for over 10 years now, I slammed the door on her.

My heart began to ache with memories I had long buried and almost forgotten. Why would she come back now? Why would she want to cause me so much pain now, when I have finally begun to move on. I leaned on the door and began to sob. The memories of what happened ten years ago became fresh in my mind, like someone opening old wounds.

"My daughter, I'm sorry", she repeated through the door, 10 years ago, I stood at her door crying and saying mom and sorry, but she slammed the door on me.

It was a cold rainy day, 10 years ago when I met him, and immediately I set my eyes on him, I knew he was the one. Jake wasn't the average man you know, he wasn't as tall as I've envisioned my man would be, or as handsome as they come, but there was this spark of electrifying energy that always surrounded him whenever he talks. He could command my attention in a second, it was as though we were meant to be from the start. I was 16 years and he was 17, yet I knew this love was priceless.

And after talking for about a month, I finally decided to visit him, knowing fully well that it may be the end of my virgin days. Jake was also a virgin too, and I believe we were meant for each other. But what happened next changed the course of our lives for good.

"Mom, I've not seen my period for three months now", my mom laughed, I mean you are just 16, I'm sure you ain't sleeping with men yet.

I kept quiet, I could not talk, I and Jake have been intimate a couple of times already and I was hoping and praying that I wasn't pregnant.

"Jess! Why haven't you replied to me, are you sleeping with men?"

"No mom", she sighed heavily and relaxed, thank God for your life, your father would have killed you.

"Mom, not men, but Jake". My mom threw away the pot she was holding and began to scream.

"Why Jess, why? Why have you chosen to be an embarrassment to this family. If your dad finds out, he would kick you out of his house, oh dear, you are only 16 years old, why Jess, why". My mom fell on the floor and began to cry. I felt her pain but at this point, there was nothing I could do to change it.

"You have to abort that child". My eyes opened in disgust and disbelief.

"Mom, I'm not killing Jake's child". Then be prepared for whatever your dad does.

"Mom please, help me, I can't do what you are asking, but I can't do anything without you, mom please". But my cries and pleas fell on deaf ears, she ran to dad immediately and told him what was happening.

I was already trembling when dad came into my room. He looked at me as if I wasn't his daughter anymore.

"You are an embarrassment to this family, and I can't have you close to any of my other children anymore. You have to leave my house."

I could not believe my own Father was about to chase me away from his house because I was pregnant at 16. I ran and hugged him and began to cry. Dad please, I pleaded, I made a MISTAKE, but please don't do this to me, I can't survive on my own, I have nothing and no one to run to.

He tried pushing me off but I held on tightly, "dad please, dad please", but he was stronger than me and so he shoved me hard on the floor that I fell and broke my arm. But even though I was pregnant, in tears, had a broken arm, and in excruciating physical and emotional pain, I still pleaded with him. All to no avail.

And then I ran to the one person I hoped would save me, the one person I loved more than myself or anyone in this world, the one person that was supposed to protect me from monsters, wolves, and anything that would want to hurt me, I ran to my mom.

"Mom, please don't let dad kick me out, please!", She wasn't going to forgive me, I saw the disgust and shame in her eyes, the way she looked at me had changed. It was as though I had become a stranger.

With nothing on me, no even one Naira, dad dragged me out of his house and mom stood there and watched. I begged and screamed, I'm your daughter, please have mercy on me. But it didn't matter, all they wanted was me out of their house.

And so I stood at the door begging, but mom watched as dad slammed the door on me. That day, I had to learn to fend for myself. I went to Jake's house, he was only 17, and when we told his parents, they kicked him out too. So it was just I and Jake against the world.

He took up many menial jobs to see that I was taken care of the best he could. Jake got skinny by the day, and no matter how much he worked, we barely had enough to survive, but we survived. And after an excruciating 9 months of pain, hunger, sickness, I finally gave birth to a beautiful baby boy, Jay.

With Joy in my heart, and knowing I could not deny my parents the chance of seri5thier beautiful grandson even though they did not deserve it, I ran to their house to break the news to them. I knocked, mom answered the door.

"Mom!, It's a boy!" I said while holding Jay in my arms, it's a boy. But it didn't matter to her. It was as though I did not exist anymore. Who is that Dad inquired, "it's nobody", mom said and shut the door for the second time on me, this time not just on me, but on her grandson.

Her actions broke me, I fell and began to sob, Jay joined me, even though he was barely a week old, he felt the pain of being rejected by his grandparents. That day, I promised myself and Jay that we would never be rejected this way by anyone anymore.

Jake hustled, even more, to be able to put me through nursing school and provide for the family. After graduation, we officially got married and within 10 years since Jay's birth, we became a successful family, having Expensive properties around the country. And now that everything was on the right track, mom dare comes back into my life?

"Darling, who is at the door", Jake asked, but I couldn't answer, I was too weak, too famished to answer. I remember when mom used to show me express love, I remember her buying me ice cream and combing my hair, but because I got pregnant she abandoned me? Now I'm successful, she wants back into my life? Never!

Jake came to the door and saw me crying and asked what the problem was, "it's mom", I said, and he immediately understood what I was going through.

"You have to forgive her to be able to move on", he said.

"Forgive her? Forgive someone that abandoned me and my child? Forgive someone that left me with nothing? Forgive someone who betrayed my trust and love because of pregnancy?". Even though I was angry and furious, I knew I needed to forgive her, but why is she here, I asked, I needed to know what changed.

So I opened the door again and mom was sitting on the floor crying.

"Why did you come back after all these years?", I asked. She stood up and stared at me, I could see the pain and suffering in her eyes, something was wrong.

"It's your Dad, he is sick and has little time left to make amends, please, if the fact that I breastfed and carried you for 9 months means anything to you, you'll do me this one favor, so that his soul can rest in peace when he is gone."

"I don't care about you, dad, or anything that..." But the voice of my son interrupted me, his innocent voice and smile as he ran and hugged mom. I've always kept pictures of her around and it seems as though he recognized her.

"Grandma!" He said.

It broke me, she held him, her grandson for the first time and broke into fresh tears.

"He looks just like his granddad, your father", mom said.

"He does", and I didn't know when I ran and hugged mom, I've always wanted to hug her, and tell her I was sorry for making that mistake.

"Mom I miss you", I said, as I melted in her arms. And when she held me, for a second I felt complete once more. I could feel the love I had missed for almost 20 years come back afresh. I had no choi5than to let her back into my life. Jake just stood at the door smiling and I, mom, and Jay hugged for the first time, together.

The next day, I went to the hospital with mom to see Dad. He looked so pale, I could see and count his ribs, his tummy was distended, I felt as though I was looking at a ghost.

"My daughter, I'm...."

"I forgive you, Dad, I forgive you with all my heart", and when I said those words, he smiled, and then, he was no more.

Mom held his hands and said, "go well my husband, I'll tell your grandson all about you".

That day I realized, even though being successful is the best revenge, the family remains is everything!.

1
$ 0.07
$ 0.07 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Onyxchuzzy
3 years ago

Comments