Could missed opportunity be a missed destiny: Love.

1 8
Avatar for Onyxchuzzy
3 years ago
Topics: Shortstory

Last year's Christmas eve, I traveled home for Christmas on the 23rd of December, but something happened to me on 24th that I would never forget, hence, I want to talk to you guys about not letting opportunities slip by you no matter what.

I was about entering a bus heading to my aunt's house when from afar I saw this drop-dead pretty girl. I could swear my jaw dropped and my mouth was wide open as I stared at her. Her beauty was astonishing and her curves defined perfection in one glance. She stole the eyes and hearts of everyone who saw her in an instant, she was like Santa on a cold Christmas night, but as a 'sure" guy, I had to compose myself as we were walking at loggerhead towards each other.

I noticed she also stole a few glances at me, (omo see better green light ohh). My heart began to race as we approached ourselves. We kept walking stylishly towards me as her smile lit up the surrounding environment. Even with all the distractions from other men and beings, her focus was solely placed on me, she never removed her eyes from me even for a second. I was mesmerized.

I had to start gathering the confidence to stop her and talk to her but when we reached each other at arm's length, my confidence failed me. I had bent my head as we passed each other. I could feel, taste, and see her presence, it was overwhelming that words and actions failed me. Hello, she said, excuse me, boy, her voice was like a piece of music to my soul, her scent had me on a hook, I turned round to stare at her as I smiled sheepishly like a cow about to be milked. "Sorry but please, where can I get a bus going to Ekwulobia", she asked. Uhmm, I am heading there myself too, this way, please. Funny enough we walked together for about 2mins to the park in silence but our hearts had a conversation my ears could not hear. I was already sweating and anxiety started creeping in. We entered the bus and the journey started. we sat close to each other, at intervals, we stared at each other and I always let out a soft smile and the signature raising of my eyebrows.

"I love your smile, dash me", she said. At that point my brain formatted. Me that have been reciting my introductory speech, and now she gave me a free hand and the biggest green light anyone can ever ask for... but all I could say was "thank you". I could feel the disappointment in her voice as she said "you are welcome". I was so disconnected, why did I feel so tense.

At one time we stared at each other again and she asked this one you are staring at me, do you want to kidnap me, and she let out a beautiful laugh. Another gigantic green light Shadrach, just say anything no matter how stupid, just say something to keep the conversation going, but just said No... men, what is wrong with me. After about 12 mins of the journey, she told me she would soon alight while I will drop her at the car park. Why is she telling me I asked myself, well I replied ok. Then she later dropped off and as she stood outside the bus, we stared at each other one final time and guess what, she waved me goodbye... I felt that shit in my soul, and the bus left. I started crying. like what is wrong with me. Driver stop I said. I dropped, entered the bike back to the exact spot she dropped but... she was already gone... I searched for her for almost an hour, asked folks around but all to no prevail... I left feeling disappointed in myself...

So Every single day henceforth, I usually visit that same spot she dropped and sit at a sitout for almost 3 hours in hopes I see her. I did this for almost 2 weeks before we left the village, I never saw that angel again. I always knew she will be perfect for me, what pains me more is that uncertainty... I guess we would have been celebrating a year together today but I was too discounted to act.

I could never have known how good it could have been, the fact that I don't know is what hurts most. So if ever you see that special one... don't let anything stop you from taking that chance... let it be the person said No than for you not to know. AT least I forget, she paid for my transport fare that day.

2
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Onyxchuzzy
3 years ago
Topics: Shortstory

Comments

Actually, you don't know if it had worked out if you would have been a good match. It's what you think or makes yourself believe. What I believe is you should pick up your life and if you are meant for each other you'll meet again.

$ 0.00
3 years ago