A little too late

0 20
Avatar for Onyxchuzzy
3 years ago

I had my eyes on him for the longest of time, if you had told me a few hours ago prince charming existed in I would have laughed at you and called you silly, but here I stood, love-struck, staring at prince charming as he walked towards me.

I could not move as I could literally not move, my hands were shaking, I was sweating, the dude walked close to me and stared right into my eyes, Gosh, I felt like my world finally made sense, like though I was experiencing heaven on earth. The way the sun lighted up his golden-brown eyes, the way his neatly combed and wavy hair stalked his perfectly carved hairline, gosh, he is perfect, perfect for me.

"Hey, are you ok?", Oh lord, his voice, his voice had the softness of lightening but carried with it the command of a thunder. His perfume is scented of almond butter and dark chocolate, he is the very definition of well-groomed.

"Miss, are you ok? You've been standing and smiling for a while now".

I regained consciousness immediately to see him and a couple of others staring at me, I guess I must have zoned out a bit.

"Oh, sorry, I was thinking of you, and those blond eyes of yours, those perfectly chiseled jaw bone and ..." But I had to snap out of my fantasy and reply to him

"Oh sorry, I was lost in my thoughts for a while".

He smiled, God his smile, his smile was angelic, if the gods decided to blow the trumpet today, I would have no regrets. The way he talks, wait... Did I brush my teeth today? Is my hair well arranged? Is my blouse straight? Is my cologne still on? I became self-aware, I have never felt this way in my entire life, standing close to this godly being of a man, I felt naked.

"A penny for your thoughts", he said and gave me a broad open teeth smile.

Lord, this is my prince charming, this is him, I am 100 percent sure of this, but I froze, I went blank at that instance, I was crippled by fear from my past and uncertainty of the future.

Should I give him a chance, give myself a chance at love again, Should I let him in? What if he burst me the same way that the last guy did? What if he doesn't truly care about me, just talking. I fall easily and fall too deep.

"It's nothing, I'm running late for class", I said and tried to walk away fast. I began to beat myself up, why I'm a coward, I preach girl power every day, I tell myself to go for what I want, and now I have seen what I want and I am cowardly running away.

But before I could move past him, I felt his strong masculine arms grab my shoulder powerfully yet as soft as the ocean's breeze on a cool day. His touch was enough assurance, I need him to hold me this way for eternity.

"Can I at least get your number, I'll call you when you are a little bit collected", he said.

"YES YES YES!!!", I screamed in my heat, but all I could say at the end of the day was No.

"I can't give you my number, but if we meet again, I sure give it to you", and then I tried to move but he still held me firmly. I prayed within my heart that he never lets me go, please don't lose your grip on Me, I begged him in my heart.

But then I felt his grip loosening up, it felt as though my heart was breaking into a million pieces. Gradually he let go of me and I saw my world crumble right in front of my eyes.

"I'll see you around then", he said and walked away.

I turned back to Swifty and tried to call him back, at least ask his name or something, but I couldn't move, I couldn't talk, I just watched my prince charming walk away from my life. I couldn't breathe, I wanted to cry but I had tomorrow to find him.

The next day I stood at that same spot we met for almost an hour waiting for him, waiting for his voice to say hello, waiting for his arms to hold me, waiting for his smile, but today I didn't get it. I'll come back tomorrow.

And I went back the next day, and the day after the next day, and I continued for almost a month, staying at that same spot for over an hour every day, but prince charming was gone. My prince charming was gone and it was my fault.

And after a month of waiting for him with no luck, I bent my heads down and began to cry, my heart was broken and there was nothing or no one that could console me. And when I was about to give up totally, I heard a voice behind me say,

"A penny for your thoughts?"

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for Onyxchuzzy
3 years ago

Comments