The Nurses hand.

0 13
Avatar for OnyekaKings
3 years ago
Topics: Shortstory

Staying at the hospital bed can be emotionally disturbing yet health care workers are always there to smile at your face. Doctors and Nurses are angels send by God in times of health challenges. Nurses go a lot to see you heal from your diseases. Let me tell you a life true story. How a nurse's touch transformed a life.

At about 8:05 pm, light streamed across my bed as the door opened into my hospital room at Iyienu hospital, Ogidi in September 2017. It was not unusual for nurses to come and go at all hours. I was wide awake, anyway, since I could find no peace and rest from my inner turmoil. It happened that I needed to do a surgery. .The nurse who entered my room had a familiar face. I knew her from school of nursing then, where she seemed quiet and reserved. That night she took my vitals and then did something extraordinary. She pulled up a chair and sat at my bedside, and without saying a word, took my hand. For about five minutes, she held my hand in silence.

She was sensitive that I had cried away all my words and had nothing more to say..Others had offered encouraging words and well wishes for my broken heart. Even a motivational book and pharmacology text book was left for me, which meant nothing in this dark hour of my life..This dear nurse gave me the gift of understanding and hope by not making me struggle to hold a conversation or make excuses for why a surgery will happened to me. With her silence, she let my soul rest and gave me comfort with her kind touch. It was like having Jesus holding my hand and enveloping me with His love

The dark days passed and my life moved on — a life filled with family, friends and a future. Little did I know that during my hospital stay God would drop something in my heart, a deepened compassion and strong desire to help people in need; that started with that nurse's touch.

It can amend the broken and wounded heart, heal faster than any medication, and can transform life....

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for OnyekaKings
3 years ago
Topics: Shortstory

Comments