He is My Neighbour

3 35
Avatar for Oluwa-bless.142
1 year ago

I waved him down and asked if I could join him to the neighbouring town ahead and without a second thought he parked as though he already had me in mind, asked me to sit down. He was not the first or second person I waved, but he was the only willing person to help out. Not as though I don't have tea fair, but it's hard to get motorcyclist that goes to this remote part of the city.

I sat behind him comfortably and was nodding my head at every little comments and complaints he made about the reckless driving of other road users. Even when I am not clear on what he said, I still monster, "don't mind them". And in no time I got to my destination and told him I want to highlight. He patiently parked by the roadside and as I highlighted he say "bye bye" reluctantly looking at the front, as though he is shy to make eye contact with me. I in turn said "bye bye" with missed feelings. It was as though we have been together for a decade. We didn't say much to each other, but we felt much for each other. What a neighbour he was! What a helper I melt!

The same is true of the classical and biblical parable of the good Samaritan, that gives us a vivid and candid description of who a neighbour is. The parable tells the story of a good Samaritan, who fell victim of robbers and thieves on his journey, which resulted in serious in jury and damages. He was bruised and battered without strength to help himself. As chance will have it, a priest was passing by, saw him and by pass the other side. A Levite also saw him, avoided him from afar. However, a certain Samaritan came to the place, saw him lieing fallow and he had compassion on him. He got down poured oil on his wound and gave him wine for him to have some strength to hold up till they get to the nearest inn. To cut the long story short, he took care of him until he was well and able to continue his journey.

The parable ended with the question, (paraphrasing) "which among three do you think was a neighbour to the man that fell among the thieves". The lawyer that ask him answered, "he that showed compassion on" The question is who do you have the ability and the readiness to help? Who do you have the power and the means to help? Who is your availability and ability profiting?

As I highlighted and was parting from my five/six minutes neighbour and brother who gave me a ride to the next town, I felt a cord of connection between us. Something pulling me not to leave him. It was as though we knew each other from Adam. We were not alien, neither are we acquaintance. We were brothers and more importantly HE IS MY NEIGHBOUR.

3
$ 0.00
Avatar for Oluwa-bless.142
1 year ago

Comments

Well done it's an expressive story

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks a lot!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're welcome

$ 0.00
1 year ago