The Years Keep Counting...

0 29
Avatar for Olasquare
3 months ago
Topics: Life, Emotions, Blog, Poem, Poetry

I can still remember when I heard the news of his demise...I was thrown aback and torn into shreds within my heart. Sometimes I wonder why the good people go quickly and the evil people live longer. Sometimes I console myself with the fact that they are saved from the wickedness of this world because they were too good.

I wrote this poem I think last year or two years ago for this wonderful man we all call "Baba Ijo". He was a resilient, dedicated and hardworking man. He was everywhere. He never shied from anything. Anything to advance the gospel of Christ, he was at the foremost of it. He spoke with so much calmness. He knew how to win you over with words and let you listen to his words while patiently listening to you and diffussing any anger or reservations that you have.

Here it is...enjoy it... Those words still ring through every year.

It's a year already and it's hard to forget your influence
Even as tears filled many eyes I still don't want to cry the substance
It's hard to come to terms with your demise
It hits everyone so hard and it's one unpleasant surprise
I didn't want to say goodbye because I don't want to believe you are gone
Oh... You touched most hearts, see how hearts are torn
A thousand words to console still won't break through this heavy heart
With eyes filled with tears, I wish they are enough to bring you back to earth
I would say, "No more tears" because you didn't die, you simply made a transition
This is you leaving the familiar behind to embrace another location
We don't want it but what can we do to change this situation?
Your smile and kind words broke through, regardless of the duration
I feel your sojourn here was short but your impact will outlive your existence
It's hard to say goodbye knowing that's the end of the chapter
But alive you are in many hearts, including mine
Your words replay in my head...polished after the similitude of the gold
Constantly refiring and always revered... precious and priceless
Rest on...heaven just recalled another angel home, no tears


Thank you for your time.


My pen doesn't bleed, it speaks, with speed and ease.

Still me,

My tongue is like the pen of a ready writer.

Olawalium; (Love's chemical content, in human form). Take a dose today; doctor's order.

1
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
3 months ago
Topics: Life, Emotions, Blog, Poem, Poetry

Comments