Motivation: Make The Best of It.

15 21
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

I am writing on this prompt again because @JonicaBradley said these prompts are here forever and we can work on them for as long as we can. Not to spam but to make sense out of everything.

We sometimes want things to go a certain way. We wish we can go back to make a brand new start. We wish to close our eyes sometimes and wake you from a wrong decision so we can make a better one. Life happens. In as much as we want to control everything and have things go out way, we need wisdom to accept the things we cannot change.

When a defining moment comes, define the moment or else the moment would define you. In the same way, when some decisions are taken away from your hand, learn to accept it and move on. It doesn't have to be easy but then, what good would complain do for you? It would keep you rooted on the same spot while blaming another person for your own shortfalls.

Never forget that you are responsible for how you turn out, not the decision someone else made for you. Most people would rather blame everyone else than to blame themselves. It is easier to blame another person than to blame ourselves. What are you doing about it?

I remember when growing up, I made known my intention to be a football player to my dad. At first, he agreed to it and I was over the moon. He told me he would get me the football academy form the next day, Pepsi Football Academy, to be precise. I was waiting excitedly for his return that evening. He came back and I saw a brown envelope with him. I wanted to scream so loud but my heart was just too full and it was late hahaha so, I got upstairs and opened the brown envelope only for me to see a private university form. I cried.

If you are used to African parents, you would know when their heart is strong, no amount of tears would make them sober. I was at a crossroad and I had to seek the help of one of our tenants back then. He told me to choose Economics and Sociology which I did and that was how I studied Economics.

I love playing football, I love running, I love writing and out of these three, I switched my attention to one of the things I love the most and that is writing. I could easily have blamed him for making me miss out on what could have been a major dream for me but trust me, I love writing and running with the same passion too. Sometimes, you might not have the opportunity of choosing between a second or third option but we don't have to allow ourselves to feel defeated.

Life is cruel sometimes, no doubt. We just sometimes have people make decisions for us and we are left with even terrible options to choose from but we shouldn't be deterred. It's hard for you to be motivated by things around you when you lack the internal motivation to succeed. Who you are is greater than what you have because what you will have would be a function of who you are.

Life is not perfect. Situations won't always be perfect but we need to make the most of what we have left. No one is utterly useless and when you feel this way it is because you haven't taken time to dig deep and probe into yourself. Stop blaming everyone for how you turned out. You can't go back to make a brand new start but you can make a happy ending. They used to say that it is not about 'how far' but by 'how well.'

The best time is now. Now is the best time as anything. The best time to plant a tree was 25 years ago and the next best time is now. Time goes by so fast. Time moves by the speed of a jet and misfortune crawls by the speed of a snail. We always have the option to choose how we want to turn out. Nobody can do it for you but yourself.

Stay hungry and stay motivated. Nobody can do it for you, only you can let it in. Let your book begin because the rest are still unwritten.

This writing was prompted byย @JonicaBradley ย and the rules are simple:

  • Write about Motivation.

  • Write 100% original content.

  • Write at least, 600 words.

  • Tagย @JonicaBradley

  • Have fun.

I wish you quick recovery too, @JonicaBradley

7
$ 3.83
$ 3.53 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
+ 2
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Comments

You remind me of my friend Nigel on this picture, which is a great thing, because he always make me laugh, even when he's not trying.

I read and read and I can't get your take on Motivation though. The decision was made for you and you made the best of it, this much I get, but not the connection to motivation. Maybe I'm too sleepy?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahahaha. What I meant was it didn't quite work out for me with football as my dad never agreed to it but I made the best of it by sticking to another passion that I love which is writing. So, rather than make the excuse that my dad didn't allow me follow my dream, I found a way to make myself happy and to feel fulfilled. You know, most people make excuses for how they turn out by blaming another person rather than know that they are responsible for how they turn out regardless of the obvious wrong choices that was made earlier.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I see what you mean, that makes sense. And yes, that's most of humanity we talk about. Always blaming other people and circumstances. I can't say I never do, but I also do my best to be conscious of when this happens and change the narrative before I start believing it to be true.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Absolutely. We have all been guilty of it and trying to find a way around it to still achieve a better purpose shows our mental strength. Thank you so much. ๐Ÿค—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the quote "Stay hungry and stay motivated." It's like stay hungry for success and stay motivated to step forward. โ˜บ๏ธ๐Ÿฅฐ

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Absolutely, my friend. We need to stay hungry for success.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

so you wanted to be a football player before? why is it amusing to imagine now

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha Cell. I was pretty good at it. I must be rusty now though. I have pace, shot even though I wasn't a dribbler.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

there's dribbling in football too? i don't know anything with sports

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha. Yes, there is. It's not your thing and I understand. I can put you through the basics if you would be interested.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

umm I don't have an interest in football ๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜… i appreciate the offer though

$ 0.00
2 years ago

๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ you want to leave me to it alone?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lovely. And yes, there's no I'll do it tomorrow. Sometimes tomorrow don't come. So do it now. Do it while you can. There's no dead end, have a brave heart to create your own path. Fly if you must.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I love this, mama. Accurate and true. Fly if you must, no one else can do it but you. Thanks a lot, mama.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice write up. I was caught by the African parent statement... Thank God you switched to writing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago