Cheating: Relationship and Life.

6 19
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Writing, Thoughts, Experiences, Blog, ...

I promised to share another angle to cheating after my post yesterday here.

I didn't want to make it lengthy and bore everyone. I am sharing my insight as to cheating in a relationship and you can share your insight too either through the comment or joining the prompt as well.

  • The rules for the writing prompt are simple:

  • Write about cheating

  • Write 100% original content

  • Write at least 600 words

  • Tag me @JonicaBradley

  • Have fun

I enjoyed all my comments yesterday on this topic because they were real and honest. The truth is, we have all cheated before - one way or the other. So, no one is trying to claim a moral ground here because God knows I have had my fair share too.

Image Source.

I remembered while growing up, I have always wanted to have a girlfriend to see how it feels like. I didn't just have one, I had multiple at once until I got to the point where I told myself, Nah! This isn't the life I wanted and I had to let every one of them go... I think 4 at once that time... Don't judge me 🙈🙈🙈. There was a time I learnt the hard way too when two of these ladies managed to make friends with each other and I was found out. I felt terrible but I am glad I am still friends with them till today. They understand how clueless I was and it took a while though but we patched it to friendship. Sometimes I feel guys cheat just to boost their ego and maybe for some, to feel the hype, I don't know but for me then, I felt "Don't let me turn this lady away so she won't feel she is not pretty enough" - what a lame excuse because over the years I got to know that no action would be considered blameless unless the will was so, for, by the will, the act was dictated.

Lack of self-control is a major issue most people face when in a relationship and the truth is, you will always see someone better than the person you are dating just as they will always see someone better than you too but having that discipline can save everyone the unnecessary heartache and time-wasting.

Cheating is a choice. No one points a gun to your head to do what you have always had in your mind to do. Hard situations happen that reveals the 'us' that we have been trying to bury deep under for a long time which is why I cited discipline. I always tell people that when you are in a relationship, go with your head and with your heart so as not to be devastated when certain things happen. Love is good, looking beautiful is a massive plus but the real thing is, when your partner lacks self-control, it is hard to keep up because it would be one excuse after another.

Some would even give a funny excuse that it was when they were in an argument that was when they felt compelled to look for someone who can make them happy. I feel that's childish because if it was the argument, how come the other person didn't do the same thing? This is more of a character issue than anything else. We have a lot of children in the adult's body which is why maturity takes so long to achieve for some.

Image Source 2.

Just last week, the news came out where a lady confessed to the killing of a married Billionaire. She is just I think around 21 or 22 years of age and she was in a relationship with this married man. We call it "Sugar Daddy" here in Nigeria. Sugar Daddy is when you have an older man going for someone relatively young and it is usually mutually beneficial to both parties as the man parts away with his money while the lady offers him sex or any other thing they want to share in common.

As I said, no one is claiming a moral ground as I can never be in the best of a position to judge the late Sugar Daddy or the lady in question even though she has been arrested now. The point I am driving at here is that cheating always has its repercussion - directly or indirectly. My thoughts went quickly to the late man's wife and children. How are they feeling? What is running through their minds? The idea of who they thought their father was, has been distorted? How is society seeing them right now? Can they move on? Will they enjoy a normal life again? How will they pick up their lives? Yes, they have the money but this is a life we are talking about and a husband to the wife and a father to the children? The questions are endless and it all started with an act of 'cheating'.

I mentioned earlier that we have all been involved in this one way or the other. I remembered when I would inflate the prices of the things I needed just to get more money from Dad. To me, that is still cheating because I wasn't upfront with it. I knew whatever list I have him, he would cut some down hahaha, so to balance it out, I padded my list.

I felt cheated on Sunday and that's my fault too but I felt the guy milked it. To him, it might not feel like it because he can hide under the guise of rendering service but the price he called for me after fixing the tyres was ridiculous. We didn't agree on the price initially and that was where I said it was my fault and I still can't blame him but I feel cheated. I had no choice but to pay because I was already running late.

Image Source 3.

I remember the issue with the palliatives that were given to us and our politicians locked them up. They cheated the people of the basic things they should have released on time during the lockdown and everyone felt cheated. How do you lock up a whole warehouse full of palliatives and act against giving the people you pleaded with international communities to hand them to? This was done across many states. I didn't need the palliatives but I still feel cheated hahahahaha especially on behalf of those who truly need these items. We have cheating in various aspects of life and that's why I keep reiterating that we are all guilty of it.

We blame the government and point accusing fingers at them because the ones they are perpetuating are obvious but we are not different in some aspects. If you have had to inflate the prices of things then you fall into this bracket hahaha.

I would still love to read from many people regarding how they feel cheated or how they also cheated. When we know better we do better and the bottom line is to pick the lessons from it and try to do things better.

7
$ 1.01
$ 0.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @carolinacardoza
$ 0.10 from @Zhyne06
+ 3
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Writing, Thoughts, Experiences, Blog, ...

Comments

here in venezuela we don't call them sugar, we call them something else, very interesting topic and very deep, I think we all have cheated at some time, even with our thoughts.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow. That's so deep. That's another interesting angle to it... The thoughts. I totally agree.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will also write another article about the prompt though I already write one yesterday. There are lots of story about cheating. And that's so sad.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Very true, my friend. So many stories to write about it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If a man wants trouble in his house, let him go out to cheat and it should happen with a girl who is bent on destroying the home to fake being pregnant for the man. Cheating has negative effects and it most times ends to killing any one of them or many times both who are involved in cheating.

Why should you cheat on him or her? You are just not contented because if you do, then I don't think you will have the choice to cheat. Well, it's a choice but it will later end into something disastrous. Just imagine what the wife of the billionaire would be thinking or what position she would be in. It's so sad. But I think he got what he deserves.

As far as it is concerned, cheating is very bad and it's a wrong choice too.

Thanks for sharing this with us.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Well said, dear. It always end well and we all need to make better choices and stop seeing it as normal.

$ 0.00
2 years ago