Another starry sunday night

0 16
Avatar for Olamilekan
4 years ago

I have been experimenting with words, music, art. This is another post that almost got deleted or delayed. I wrote it with a different choice of music, but I kept coming back to the one I am posting. Is this a poem? Yes. My poem, my rules~

I would love it if one of you used this outline or parts of the outline but inserted a different song and art. This post is a continuation of last Sunday’s post about my struggle to write a poem with a musical theme.

The first poem I wrote I cannot share with you because I submitted it for consideration in an anthology of poems about music and it was accepted;-) It turned into a meaningful exercise for me.

Imagine attempting to write a poem about music and nothing happens. It was my first experience with writer’s block in quite a while. I remember looking around in the room where I had been writing (without success) and then a lightbulb when off in my head!

The room where I composed the poem has a theme. The poem I wrote is titled Surround Sound Elements and it’s about… well, you will be able to read it in an anthology book called The Poet’s Symphony, but for now you will have to settle for the one below;-)  One more thing. I wanted to put spaces between the instruction words and the rest of the line, but my app keeps deleting the spaces so I put the words in italics.

Vinyl Rituals

stop playing those tapes that manifest fear in your brain

begin the rituals


breathe deep breath inhale exhale repeat

browse through iconic album covers of timeless art and faces of old friends


reminisce about the legacies of maestros, rock stars, concertos, concerts

return to scenes that make you feel something again


select the music


place record on the turntable and
bring it to life

watch it spin slowly


lift the needle and gently place it on the groove

the first spark of connection between machine and vinyl reignites the journey…



resurrect the vocalist Chester Bennington singing the song One More Night

remember the first time you heard him sing the song live in honor of his friend Chris Cornell’s death

reflect about the first time you heard him sing this song again two months later after his death

understand both of them struggled in different bodies with similar demons

relax listen to this gift
bequeathed from a soul
that yearned for peace
too fragile to continue

learn from the words of this song

let go of pains from ghosts of the past

linger longer in this life

choose to live

reach out to someone because someone is waiting to hear your song

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Olamilekan
4 years ago

Comments