I met a ghost

1 17
Avatar for Okadi14
1 year ago

.....while mum and I looked after my Dad in the hospital, I'd usually go to buy junk food from the woman outside.

The woman had a gorgeous daughter who went over to stay with her most of the time because school wasn't in session.

Truth be told, some times, I went there not because I wanted to get anything but just so I'd feed my eyes with the beauty with which God had decorated the young lady.

She and I began to talk and soon, she began to like me. I mean, what's there not to like about me afterall. Likeness grew into love and love into deeper love, if you know what I mean.

Everytime I wasn't in the hospital with mum looking after my Dad, you were sure where to find me. And sometimes, she'd come keep me company when her mum was around and my mum wasn't.

One of the nurses who attended to my dad called us love birds. She said we reminded her of her younger self. Jenny and I looked sweet together. It was almost as though we were created for each other.

When nurse rose came around, she never forgot to ask about my sweetheart, Jenny. We all became fond of Nurse Rose as did she, us.

One of those days, a certain mortuary attendant had gone to buy bread and Coke from Jenny's mum, and paid part of the money and promised to pay up when she returned the bottle.

Jenny's mum was a nice woman and everyone in the hospital knew her and how nice she was. Hours passed and the mortuary attendant had not returned the bottle nor the remaining money as she had promised.

My Jenny's mum decided to go and collect them by herself. But, on reaching there, nobody fit the description she gave amongst the mortuary attendants both those on duty and those who were not.

One of the mortuary attendants went into the mortuary and saw the empty bottle of Coke and the nylon of the bread beside one of the dead bodie. The mortuary attendants were not surprised as it seemed like a norm in the mortuary. One of the attendants could be heard yelling at the dead body " you this woman, why you no dey hear word?"

As Jenny's mum took a peep to see, it was indeed the woman who had come to buy bread and Coke from her. She's been in the mortuary for quite some time. The head of the mortuary attendants asked how much the balance was so they could pay up, but Jenny's mum was trembling in fear as did passerbys who heard the story.

Back in the ward where we stayed, we waited for nurse Rose to come and attend to us but she didn't show up.

Most times, a different nurse came to attend to us but each time, nurse Rose had already attended to us.

That day, nurse Rose didn't make it on time, so we asked the nurse who had come earlier about nurse Rose, but the nurse said there was no Nurse by that name anymore, that the only Nurse Rose in the hospital had died months ago and was in the mortuary.

It didn't make any sense, she was just there in the morning. She was always there. While we were still trying to make sense of what we just heard, we began to hear noises outside. Jenny came in to explain to us what had just happened to her mum, then we told her what the nurse had just told us.

We transferred dad to a different hospital, Jenny and her mum never returned to sell bread and Coke in the hospital.

Meanwhile, Jenny and I are still sweet hearts.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Okadi14
1 year ago

Comments

Hello, everyone. Please do well to read my stories and kindly subscribe to me🙏

$ 0.00
1 year ago