drowned

0 16
Avatar for Okadi14
1 year ago

Do you have this one friend who motivates and always gives you a good reason why you must do something? For me, Ofor was that friend, my best friend. We did everything together, well, almost everything. From going to church, playing football, clubbing, writing poems, going to the gym and of course, "chyking girls" But this is not the main gist.

This, right here, is the gist. When I went to live with Ofor in his family house, it became easier for us to do the things we loved to do together. Ofor loved to swim and he knew very well how. I, on the other hand, didn't know how to swim.

So, usually, after our hard training sessions during the week, we went to party in the club on Fridays. And on Saturdays, I go watch him and other people swim. How I loved to see them swim and have mad fun, most times it made me wish that like them, I knew how to swim.

So, on that faithful Monday while we were practicing some football drills and skills, Ofor said it was time for me to start swimming and talked about how much it would help me relax and prepare for the hard training sessions that accompanied every new week. Convincing me wasn't difficult a thing for him to do.

Soon it was Saturday, and off to the pool we went. On That day, like every other day, there were fine girls and boys who had come to swim, (Who cares about the boys?) but this time, we had never seen beautiful girls come to swim as much as they did that day. Of course, as a beginner, I knew where to start, I knew very well also that I should never leave the shallowest part no matter the temptation.

A lot of fun went on in the pool but I wasn't part of it because it wasn't happening in the shallowest part of the pool of course. They swam from one end to another in back strokes and all kind of free styles.

They were having crazy fun. Anyone could tell I wasn't having any fun but that was okay, Ofor was having all the fun on our behalf. After a while, Ofor came close and said "Carthy, you know say the deepest part of this pool na 7 ft and you be 6.2, no fear, you no fit drown, I dey here" .

While he was at it, this very beautiful girl, tall, slim and fair in complexion, looking like a beautiful work of art, my ears struggled to listen to her because my eyes could not stop admiring the magnificence of the beauty with which she was blessed, as she interrupted and said "hey, I also do not know how to swim, let's learn together."

Well, long story short, I shouldn't have listened to ofor nor more especially, the girl. But I did, and as a result, I drank a few litres of water from the pool. I obviously didn't listen to them because I wanted to learn how to swim, I just wanted to have fun and with the gorgeous lady.

I was drowning and nobody noticed until someone eventually did. The fine girl that made me go into the deeper part of the pool left me and was having fun with some other fine looking guy who had dreads and six packs and who knew how to swim.

My best friend was busy teaching a few other girls how to back stroke.

Believe me, it's not an experience I would love to have, ever again.

Although I almost drowned, the good news is, I didn't.

Since then, I've had swimming lessons and I have hit the gym, plus, I have started to grow dreads, I now have six packs and, I am now fine.

What ever you do, do not do what you can not do.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Okadi14
1 year ago

Comments