Internet and Social Media: Allies or Enemies?

21 76
Avatar for Oikawa
Written by
2 years ago

Over the years, We have seen the Internet grow from a place where we contact friends and family, meet new people, research, and have fun. 

In the past social media, was a safe haven where you could share your views without getting maximum criticism and insults for it.

Social Media was not meant to create problems in our society or create diversity among people, but as usual, Humans always seem to cause problems no matter the situation.

" Everything that has an advantage has a disadvantage, but this only comes to be when Humans interfere."

I have said it before, and I will repeat it, Humans are the problem with the world. Anything we touch seems to cause harm, and no matter how much you try to lie to yourself, thats just the truth.

For example, we will use social media!!

When you think of Social media, what comes to your mind?

For me, what comes to my mind is Politics, Fake News, and Useless Arguments!!

You can literally see this on social media, " I hate all Men," which gets 100k likes, and when you check the comments, you will see people supporting this idea.

I was checking some posts, and I literally saw a group selling guns and children to people interested; I dont know if this is real, but if it is, then there is a severe problem with society.

How can you be advertising children online and selling them? Are these people even human? 

I don't think humans understand that our main enemy is not animals but ourselves.

I felt curious this week for some reason, and I came across "Dark Web".

I have heard of it before, but I never really felt interested, maybe because I was scared.

But I summed up courage and did some research, and Oh, did I find so many things up in there.

I won't disclose what I saw for safety, but I still know many things are happening on the Internet, and we are not even aware.

Let me just say this, "Dark Web" is the most violent, illegal, and inhumane place that you will wonder if they are real humans.

The dark web has flourished due to the cryptocurrency we all know and love, which is "Bitcoin."

I know some of you are wondering what I saw but let me just list some things out

-Buying Logging credentials to $50,000 Bank accounts

-Drug Trafficking

-Human Trafficking

-Terrorist Killings

-Torture 

There are many more, but this will be a very long article if I keep it ongoing.

Why is the Internet being used for such savage acts? I mean, why would you release a video of cutting a man's body in half with a chainsaw? They wrote "Art" below, but I don't know how that is even considered art.

The real question is, how did I watch it? But that is a story for another day.

Why is the Dark Web not taken down by the Government or Google? Personally, I think both stand a chance to gain something by allowing such activities to go on, but let's look at the facts.

The Government has so many servers that run down the dark web. If we ignore all the dark web's wrong sides, you may find standard groups such as the Chess Club.

The "Dark Web" may be Inhumane, but you can only view this site if you are interested, if you know what I mean. 

Just like how you can't remove crime from society, you can't remove the dark web from the Internet. There is always light in the darkness; removing the dark web would be like removing it because it is also a part of the Internet, and the Government benefits from it.

Let's take another example Problems of the Internet: Social Media!!

I am sure we all know what "Social media" is, and we are all on few platforms here and there.

Just like I wrote before, I have not seen a place more deceptive and fake such as "Social media," especially with the new craze called "Tiktok."

I am sure we have all seen a couple of Tiktokers on our screen dancing and doing all sorts of weird things.

Some of us may have even joined in all the craze and done our own weird stuff, I am not judging anyone, but when I look at Tiktok and how it is consuming and ruining young peoples lives, it really makes me wonder if Social media should have been created in the first place.

There are so many trends on the platform, some are funny and nice, but some are just sick and twisted. 

Just imagine a young lady flirting with an old man so she can call the police on him and get him arrested for harassment and call it a prank!! I know some of them may be rehearsed, but people don't know the things that may be going on in other people's minds.

Some people dont even know if it is accurate or not, and when they see the number of views this trend gets, they go out and do their own. 

Regardless of other people's well-being or opinions just for fame and popularity, these individuals create crazy trends that do no benefit to society.

Will the Internet and Social Media be the downfall of "HUMANS," or will we find a way out of this? 

Conclusion

What do you think will happen in the future? Will we ever get over these issues of the modern age or be consumed by them?

I don't think Humanity is ready to enter the next age because we haven't conquered the problems of our current age.

Imagine if we go to Mars, it may be a new planet, but it is still the same "Humans".

We ruined Earth. It will only take a matter of time before we completely destroy it.

Thank you for reading, and please consider subscribing and leave a comment to contribute!!

Have a Wonderful Weekend!!!!










8
$ 3.49
$ 3.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
+ 4
Sponsors of Oikawa
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Oikawa
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

This question actually applies to every single existing thing on this planet...and the answer is same, "It depends on what you use it for........"... because take an example a knife, would be dearly useful if you just use it to cut veggies and fruits... but dreadful to use it on people lol... you see where I'm coming from right?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah I get it, it all depends on the person that wields it. Happy weekend blackdoll😁😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess it depends on how one uses it. I heard stories about the Dark Web and though I was intrigued, I didn't want to have a part on it or even search about it. We must guard our own sanity and being.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe, yeah that was the first time I went there because of research purposes! My friend went there once and got a threat mail from it. I hope I don't get mine!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Geez! That's so dark indeed if one who gets there gets on a threat list :/

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Some people say that the dark web is even bigger than the main web. I also did some research back when I was interested in hacking, I installed some softwares on my laptop and traveled into the dark web, and well let's just say after that encounter I just ran away from hacking.

The internet is neither good nor bad, it depends on what you do with it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

✌lol the experience was really something!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Anything in this world comes with advantages and disadvantages. The internet has a lot to offer. Being human means you have critical thinking to use the internet or to use other things wisely and correctly. I just hope that teenagers will be educated enough and would be awaken as to how social media should be used.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly, I hope young people understand that social media is meant to benefit everyone and not use it to ruin other people!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Excess of everything is bad and I don't see that in future human will realise I think they become more evil. The next generation will be on next level and don't how far this technology take away.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hmm, that really scares me too I hope this generation corrects the problems before it Is too late, .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

But our children, future is dependent on us on parents. They become only those for which they are treated.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everything that is beyond average is not healthy :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

well said sis, Happy Sunday!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

you too, my friend!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There's this adage that says, "in everything useful, there's always a pain associated with it". This quote is actually made for the points you gave here about the social media and their negative impact on people all over the world. The issues regarding the selling of guns as you did mention here is really a bad idea and show casing it on the internet is one of the corruptible tendencies anyone can talk about. You also pinpointed the issues regarding drug trafficking and many others, well all I can say about all that is that the social media has really destroyed all the good mannerisms and aspects of people and have enthroned or exchanged them with the most negative aspects which are of course what the world really want to see and practice and as such, given the spread of it across the entire globe, these vices would continue to flourish rather than stop. How I wish everyone consigns to your taught of raising a voice and saying no to the unfortunate negative effect and impact the social media has created amongst us its users especially when someone disappointedly created such a horrible post of kids carrying guns as if that was right. Though we are not underestimating the positive aspects of the social media and its life changing effects hence we must maintain our stance against their created vices.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well said Pheazer, it would be great if you could create a new account so that you wont be marked as spam!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you. I'm really thinking of creating one but what if I create one, what do you think that will happen to all my referrals and what about the people I'm following here like you and others, would they also recognize that iam still the one? What do you think?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You can still have this account but you are just using a different device!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The internet and social media are friends to me.But yes, there are good and bad sides to everything. But the main thing is how you take it.Nice to read your article.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, I think it all depends on the person using it, just like a knife can be used for cutting vegetables can also be used to deal serious damage to a person!

$ 0.00
2 years ago