Freedom: Can you say you are truly free?

11 31
Avatar for Oikawa
Written by
2 years ago

Recently I had a dream, it was 1900, and I was a slave for some reason. I am from Africa, or I am black, so this dream seemed pretty normal to me, and I thought it was due to the history books I had been reading. (Maybe it's another precognitive dream, but I wonder why it is showing me the past)

In the dream, my name was Lesley, and I worked on a farm and helped rear the cattle; behind me were other black men who seemed to look dejected and seemed to have given up on ever having their freedom.

"Lesley" got agitated, and he was furious at how his people were being treated; in this dream, I was not controlling Lesley. It's more like I was watching while he was doing the action. 

He rioted against the cruel work everyone was being forced to do and the little remuneration they were getting from their work. Lesley sounded like a man who had suffered for years and had finally had enough of the shit*y life he was living. 

Lesley kept fighting, and later on, his colleagues joined and started a riot that reached the ranch's head. Lesley had started all this, and he was ready to die if it meant a better life for his people.

The riot raged on for some hours; the workers thought they had won and felt happy about their achievements, little did they know that their world was about to change. 

The ranch's head had come to pay them a visit, but he wasn't alone; he had 4 men who carried arms with them, the workers were happy to see him.

In their minds, their wishes had finally been granted, but little did they know that they forfeited their lives when they started that riot.

Lesley approaches the ranch's head and requests an audience with him as the head of the riot, but everyone is shocked to see Lesley's head blown away by the men he called "Master." 

Lesley's lifeless body dropped to the ground, and blood spilled everywhere; at this point, I thought I would wake up from the dream because I was scared at the moment.

The workers are filled with pain and regret as Lesley's lifeless body is repeatedly shot to shame him and disregard him as human.

His head is cut off and hanged together with his body to warn others that want to follow his lead.

After Lesley's death, you would think the "Master" would be satisfied. Still, the following weeks would be gruesome hell for all those who participated in the riots. 

The work regime, which was inhumane before, became worse. This time, there was no pay because the workers didn't appreciate their previous salaries. The "Master" made sure they all suffered and ensure prolonged torture for those who led the riot.

On the dead body hanging, I could see a letter which wrote, "My place of death was the only thing I chose in my life" it was Lesley's body. This man was a slave to freedom and he died for it.

As it hung upon the gallows, you could see the face of a man who never knew freedom, not because he did something wrong but because he had dark skin.

"I have learned over the years that when one's mind is made up, this diminishes fear." - Rosa Parks.

"Human beings are born with different capacities. If they are free, they are not equal. And if they are equal, they are not free."

― Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn

I finally woke up from the dream, and I don't know if it was fate or not. Still, when I opened my Read.cash, the first article I saw was @FarmGirl (Sorry for tagging you without asking first 🙇) in her article on "Ideal Life, What is it For You?" I commented that my ideal life was basically having "Freedom," and with freedom comes choice.

Most people don't know the significance of freedom because they have had the leisure to enjoy it all their lives.

But have you ever stopped thinking about what you would do without your "Freedom"?

Human beings take things for granted until they lose them; this is a common problem even I have faced.

I always hear people say freedom is a legal right, which makes them take it for granted because they have it.

Can we say that we are truly free? If you examine yourself, you will find out we are all slaves to something. It is human nature to worship something so that we can move forward.

"I wanted power... Everyone I saw was the same: alcohol, women, pretending to be God, family, Royalty, Dreams, Children, Power… They all had something they were drunk on. They were all slaves to something… and that is humanity.

Conclusion

Have you ever felt like you were truly free in your life, or are you a slave to something?

In my recent dreams, I had written this article before. It really scared me as I remembered it when writing. Damn, I wonder what is going on with my mind.

What are you a slave to? Leave your answer in the comments. Thank you for reading, and God bless!!! See you at the next one.














8
$ 5.13
$ 4.86 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Alther
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
+ 4
Sponsors of Oikawa
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Oikawa
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

What a terrifying dream you had. And you asking are we really free makes me think if I really am. Well in these times, aren't we all confined by the virus, thereby controlling our movements? But it doesn't mean we are slaves to it. I don't see it that way :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

❤Hehe we are not a slaves❤Thank you for sharing FarmGirl it really means a lot

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes we are not :) Enjoy your day!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

your mind works even when you are asleep.... and dreaming of a 19 century is a bit too deep for me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well you see thats the problem I cant remember the last time I slept without having a dream but this was because I read about slave history dont worry😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree. We are slave of something. We are not just conciously aknowledging it. But we are hindered to do the things we want because of the other things that rules us and our values.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe if I may ask what do u think u are a slave to?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Slavery and racism, even in dreams, is a terrible thing. The past is full of many freedom fighters, each of them a hero to me. We can understand how difficult it is to simply live through the shameful times of humanity.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Humanity may be free but we always find a way to imprison ourselves!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No dear we are not slave . Actually this is totally unfair with African countries they always treated like that. So where are human righter ? All the system is bad. No worry dear this is a life. But always stay positive and keep fighting for your rights.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe, Thank you!! Do you think you are a slave to something by any chance!

$ 0.00
2 years ago