Effects of Negative Self-Talk

8 48
Avatar for Oikawa
Written by
2 years ago

Date: Thursday, March 24th, 2022

Hello Everyone, Happy Thursday to you all, and welcome to the fourth day of the week; I hope you had a nice rest.

Today is the 24th day of March, meaning we only have seven days left till we enter a new month.

Do you know that inside, everyone is a critic? 

Have you ever heard that little voice that keeps you motivated or helps you work towards your goals?

Maybe it reminded you that what you were eating wasn't healthy for you, or what you were doing wasn't the right decision.

This voice is known as self-talk, and while sometimes it can be helpful, other times it can be harmful to us.

Negative self-talk is something I think we have all experienced at one point in our lives, and it may have come in many forms.

It is known to create significant stress, not only to us but also to those around us.

Negative self-talk may sound like this. 

"I am not very good at this, maybe I should avoid taking any more attempts for my own safety." or

"I can never do anything right, because I am not good enough."

It may seem like a logical appraisal of the situation, but it becomes a fear-based mentality.

"I can't acknowledge I got an E on my math test; I will never be able to go to a good college."

The pondering of your inner self may resemble the voice of a friend or critical parent from the past.

In simple terms, Negative self-talk is an inner dialogue you have with yourself, and it may be limiting your potential.

Negative self-talk stops you from believing in yourself and your abilities.

It is any feeling/thought that destroys your ability to make positive alterations in your life.

Negative self-talk doesn't only increase stress levels, but it also destroys your path to success.

It may be damaging in many ways, and some studies even show that negative self-talk may lead to mental health problems.

You will be less motivated and helpless when you focus on negative thoughts.

Negative self-talk may lead to depression in some severe cases, so you must fix it.

People who engage in negative self-talk frequently tend to be more stressed than others because their reality is changed to create a scenario where they don't have the ability or resources to reach the goals they set for themselves.

Engaging in Negative self-talk can lead to a lowered ability to see the opportunities coming towards you.

It may also lead to a decreased urge to capitalize or use opportunities.

  • Perfectionism: When you are wrapped in negative self-talk, you believe "great" isn't as good as "perfect." Mere high achievers tend to be better than their perfectionist counterparts because they are less stressed and happy with their well-done job.

  • Limited Initiative: The more you tell yourself you can't achieve or do something, the more you believe it. If you tell yourself you can't become successful, you would never be.

  • Sensations of Depression: As I have written before, negative self-talk may lead to depression because when you keep overthinking things, you will only find yourself confused and wrecked.

  • Difficulties in Relationships: The constant self-criticism will make you seem insecure and needy, or it may even turn into a negative habit that will affect/bother others around you.

The most obvious disadvantage of negative self-talk is that it will never be positive.

It may sound simplistic, but positivity will always beat negativity.

The soundest way to reach success is to start being positive instead of negative about every situation you find yourself in.

Instead of telling yourself, 

"I can't do this." 

Tell yourself:

"I can do it."

Challenge yourself to do things instead of stating you can't do them because you are not perfect at it.

Anytime you find yourself negative, try resetting yourself with a slight tap to your wrist; this may help you realize what you are doing and stop it.

I hope with this article, you can know the toxic effects of negative self-talk.
Thank you!

17
$ 6.01
$ 5.52 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
+ 14
Sponsors of Oikawa
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Oikawa
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I did this before but I've learned that what you tell yourself will most likely happen. So instead of thinking and saying negative things to my self, I make them positive.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Best one. Self talk is best and increases your inner hunger for success. Besides, it helps you to judge your own works. No negative talk in it. Otherwise it will ruin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Self talk or like self sabotaging too no, I do this sometimes. Good thing is, I still come to my senses and still be positive. I don't want to stress myself anymore that's why I choose to be always positive from now on. Except on covida off course 👀🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly, negative self talk won't results any positive outcome as by doing that you already lost all your trust and positivity in your self. Life is tough and we shouldn't bring our selves down.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh I admit I have that negative self talk sometimes😬. I know it's bad but can't help to think about it😂.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do love it, to be positive always and yes! I can do it too 🥰🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oikawa kun.. Joyboy has revealed..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Negative self talk makes us to settle for the less when there are higher achievements for us. You self talk it, looking at big achievements as the achievements meant for the higher class and hence settle for the one that suit the so called position

$ 0.00
2 years ago