Learning through your experience

0 24
Avatar for Odogwu
Written by
3 years ago

Learning is a continuous process and as long as we live on earth we continue to learn until we die. No matter how wise or educated an individual is or might claim to be, there are things they don't know and they need another person to teach

In order for one to remain productive and relevant in the society, there's need to always upgrade in knowledge and move with the times, else one will find the self behind time.

There are many different ways we learn new things including reading, learning from other people, through experience etc. Out of all the methods of learning, the one I consider the worse is learning through experience

The fact that we need to learn new things doesn't justify learning in just any way available, we still have a right to choose the best way to learn. Though different people might to choose to learn in different ways convenient for them

There is a popular saying that experience is the best teacher, I completely disagree with that school of thought for so many reasons. You don't have to experience something before you learn, if we have to learn everything through experience then we constantly put our lives in danger because something's are too dangerous to experience

I remember a story that my dad told us when I was still a kid. There lived a very wealthy king who had three sons, one day he summoned his sons on his sick bed to test them in order to know which one of them can manage his wealth when he's gone

He asked the first son "son, how many times will you have a bad experience before you learn from it?" The son answered "if I have a bad experience the first time, the second time I'll learn my lesson"

He asked the second son the same question and he answered "I don't have to experience twice before I learn, if I have a bad experience once, I'll learn from it"

Again, the king asked the third son "how many times something happen to you before you learn from it?"

The third so answered "father, I don't have to wait for a bad thing to happen to me before I learn, I learn my lessons when I see it happen to another person"

The king was so impressed with the wisdom in the response of his third son. He made him his successor and handed his major businesses to him.

Learn from the things that happen around you, don't let things happen to you before you learn. A word is enough for the wise because too much words aren't necessary; a word is also enough for the fool because he will not understand plenty of words

Lead image source

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for Odogwu
Written by
3 years ago

Comments