I know it all

3 20
Avatar for Odogwu
Written by
3 years ago

Mr know it all

How difficult is it to admit being ignorant of something?

I've been thinking about this for some time now and I can't seem to really understand the big deal in claiming to know everything neither can i understand the crime I'm not knowing a particular thing and admitting it

During my school days, there's a set of people that we call i.t.k, which is an acronym for I too know. These are the people that present themselves as geniuses, they always put up and want people to believe that they know everything. They rather remain ignorant that admit not knowing something and be taught

Recently, I had an encounter with a guy who claimed to be an expert in crypto trading; he told me that he was going to buy cryptocurrencies and keep so he an sell them later when they appreciate in value. I tried all I could to convince him that he has to do a research first before investing in any crypto

The guy refused to get my point and kept mentioning bitcoin and how the value of bitcoin appreciated from very little to what it is now. He believes that every cryptocurrency will grow in value exactly how bitcoin grew. After a long argument, I have up and told him to do whatever he likes with his money; I'll just let him buy all the shit coins and watch how he's going to do the magic

Some people are just not teachable, they don't know and they're not willing to learn. I remember what my father used to say when I was a kid, "he who does not know and does not know that he does not know is a fool, but he who does not know and does not know that he doesn't know and he doesn't want to know is a bigger fool and will remain a fool forever"

You might not really understand how I feel or how annoying it is until you meet such person; they'll even engage you in a baseless argument over something they know nothing about. It's crazy!

Seriously, people who behave like that hardly grow in knowledge because nobody wants to teach a proud person who think they know everything. This is a new year, a new opportunity for corrections and positive change. If you're such person, it is better you change and learn new things from other people, no man is an island of knowledge

Always have it in mind that no one person knows everything and no one can know it all. It is normal and okay to ask questions when you don't know or understand a particular thing, people will always be happy and willing to teach an ignorant person; but no one can tolerate a proud ignoramus who claims to know it all

Let's be humble to admit what we don't know and be wise to learn more new things, it causes no harm

Happy New year!

Lead image source

1
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @Mictorrani
Avatar for Odogwu
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

You are absolutely right. The one who asks when he doesn't know, is the one who learns something new, the one who grows. People who are too proud to show their ignorance by asking, are those who stagnate.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If you don't know something don't feel proud to ask, we all learn everyday.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, it takes humility for someone to admit their ignorance, the proud can not do that

$ 0.00
3 years ago