If you failed to recite well in this year Ramadan

1 1
Avatar for Obalowoyusuf
3 years ago

'I failed this year because I didn't recite enough. 'I let myself down because I could pray enough at night.' 'Ten years ago, I did 15 Khatms of the Quran but I'm nowhere near that this year.'

I know so many people who compare their past Ramadans and try to measure every Ramadan of their lives on that scale and it really upsets them. Don't think for a second that the way you were so engaged in Ramadan during uni or college, or when you first got interested in the Deen will always remain the same. As we get older, our circumstances and responsibilities change, and things alter. The Ramadan of a free student isn't the same as someone who is newly married.

A new couple won't have the same Ramadan as those with children who turn the house upside down. Perhaps, last year you were well and praying Qiyam al-Layl, but this year you are really ill and barely able to fast. In your early 20s, mum was doing everything but now she moved on to the next world and you're all alone. 5 years ago, you were single and unemployed but now you're working 9/5 and have other mouths to feed. A few years ago you were loaded and giving thousands in charity and now you feel broke and the bank account is empty.

Allah knows your struggles, your commitments, your intentions, your wishes, your desires, and your yearning. Your salvation in previous years was standing in Salah. This year it may be in being patient whilst serving your parents who can't get up due to illness. A decade ago, your point of forgiveness was in going out on humanitarian work for charity. This year, it might be in smiling at loved ones and giving them quality time at home. In college, your openings were in doing khatm after khatm. This year it may be in teaching your infant child alif, baa, taa.

Previously it might have been in itikaf all alone in the Masjid. This Ramadan, it might be in serving the needy of the community. Every Companion of Rasūlallāh ﷺ was different in their Ramadan but each of them made it work. Some were parents, some were business people, some were in Jihad, and others were full-time students but guess what? They all earned Allah's pleasure. Whatever situation you're in - be grateful and excel in that - and the Lord of Ramadan will reward you beyond all measure.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Obalowoyusuf
3 years ago

Comments

'I failed this year because I didn't recite enough. 'I let myself down because I could pray enough at night.' 'Ten years ago, I did 15 Khatms of the Quran but I'm nowhere near that this year.' U don't HV to see ur self as a failure that is why u have to work harder

$ 0.00
3 years ago