My Top 10 Rock, Alternative and Pop Punk Songs of May (May Song Releases Recap)

20 186
Avatar for Nyctofiles
2 years ago

"Wake me up when May ends, " I said. It is now June and I'm back to bring you something about music and pop culture.

From Green Day's Pollyanna to Twenty One Pilots'Choker.May is a month full of music releases. A month of full head bang, month of full dances,a month of sing along, and a month full of tears and joy. A month of rock, alternative, and pop pjnk songs. Definitely a month for headbangers.

I might be late but here are my Top 10 Rock, Alternative and Pop punk songs released last month:


10. "If I Surrender"-Citizen Soldier

     "If I surrender
      To the monsters in me
      Will it set me free?

If I Surrender is a song from American band Citizen Soldier –a band who's making an impact through music for those fight battles everyday that others dismiss or judge them for.

This song speaks for those struggling with depression and other mental illnesses, and those who have suicidal thoughts. It's about what they feel and think about themselves. I think, this song can give hope and inspiration for those having silent battles and empathy and understanding for those who are not.

I'm happy that I discovered this band. Worth listening for. They're giving voice for those struggling and can't speak.

A song worth sharing for everyone with its powerful message and vocals just like Citizen Soldier's every song.

9. "TIME 2"- half•alive

     "Fighting the constant 
     Forgetting to give it up

TIME 2 is the newest single from American band half•alive .The song was produced by three-time GRAMMY winner Ariel Rechtshaid (Produced some works from Adele, Vampire Weekend, and HAIM) and co-written with Dan Nigro (Olivia Rodrigo's Sour co-writer). TIME 2 is about "waking up in the chaos of life and remembering a child-like state of mind," as what the band describe this song.

This band is really impressive. They sound unique and different with other artists. Also, they still have variety of music.

TIME 2's lyrics and storytelling is superb. This song really implies what the band describe it to be.

8. "Violet! "-Waterparks

     "And this ain't Misery 
     But I'd break you knees 
     To keep you here with me

Violet! is a newest single of American rock trio Waterparks from their latest album Greatest Hits.

This song is vibrant and upbeat that compliments Awsten's (the vocalist) vocals. The lyrics and music video is interesting and beautifully weird. The song is catchy too and can make you dance.

7."Amnesia "-MOD SUN

"I have no past when I see ya,amnesia
You make me think of my future,I need ya

Amnesia is a track from Internet Killed the Rockstar Deluxe Album of American singer-songwriter and rapper MOD SUN.

I discovered and listened to MOD SUN just recently because of his song Flames featuring his girlfriend Avril Lavigne. I'm already hooked to this artist and his music.

This song is one of my favorites from him. An emotional song with insane vocals. Pop punk is back!

6. "No Chances"-Twenty One Pilots

       "We come for you
          No chances

No Chances is the tenth and penultimate track Twenty One Pilots' sixth studio album, Scaled and Icy.

The album is composed of vibrant and upbeat tracks, unlike this one. This song is dark and haunting and some parts may be eerie (the 'we come for you' lines. I noticed that this song sounds similar to their previous album Trench. I don't know what the lyrics really imply but it seems dark and intriguing yet have interesting story telling.

I've got chills listening to this track from Scaled and Icy.

5."Broken Heart of Gold"- ONE OK ROCK

   "Sometimes I just wanna say
   I love myself but not today

Broken Heart of Gold is a new single released by Japanese band ONE OK ROCK last may 28,2021. The song is exclusively written for the live-action film Rurouni Kenshin: The Beginning. Just like the recent single released Renegades, this song is an official theme song for the said film.

I really love this new song. With it's piano melody and ballad style,the song became more emotional aside from it's deep lyrics. It's comforting yet hits hard.

Broken Heart of Gold is literally a gold.

4."Pollyanna"-Green Day

  "It's wonderful to be alive
 And everything's gonna be alright

Pollyanna is a surprise single released on May 17 by a veteran pop-punk trio Green Day. This song is their latest single that follows Here Comes the Shock,a single released in February this year.

If 2020 has Twenty One Pilots' Level of Concer,this year has pollyanna from Green Day. Both songs can be out go-to this and about pandemic and quarantine .

Pollyanna sounds different to the band's previous works. And so does the theme and lyrics of the song.

This song is optimistic, uplifting and inspiring. No wonder, that the comment section of the lyric video released on YouTube is filled with people who found comfort, hope and inspiration on this song.

Pollyanna is a song we need in these times.

3."good 4 u"- Olivia Rodrigo

      "Well good for you, 
I guess you move on really easily 

good 4 u is a third single from Olivia Rodrigo's debut album Sour. This song is about an ex-lover who move on easily after a break up. This song debuted on No. 1 on the Billboard Hot 100 in the united States, her second number-one song after driver's license.

'good 4 u' is far Olivia Rodrigo's first two singles 'driver's license'and 'deja vu'in terms of vibes and style,not just genre. Olivia prove that she can be versatile in her art,yet still powerful. This song is the Gen Z's new post break-up anthem.

The song is angsty and relatable just like the other track 'brutal'. It's a nostalgic-sounding song that blends pop punk, pop rock, grunge and teen pop genre. It's also heavily driven by guitar and drums,and it can definitely make you scream along in your room while dancing and banging your head while listening.

I think, listening to good 4 u is good for you.

2. "love race"- Machine Gun Kelly ft. Kellin Quinn

"I dont want to be without you
But I'm here, screaming by myself

Love race is a song by American pop punk artist and rapper Machine Gun Kelly that feautures vocals from Kellin.Quinn, Sleeping With Sirens vocalist and also features drumming of MGK's long-time collaborator, Travis Barker from Blink-182.

Just like Machine Gun Kelly and Kellin Quinn's collaborations in the past like 'Alone'and 'Swing Life Away'. 'Love race' is a powerful pop punk song. The song is catchy, danceable and can definitely make you head bang. This song sound nostalgic too, like a theme song in a teen movie in early 2000.

I love the harmony of Machine Gun Kelly's lower hoarse voice and Kellin Quinn's higher and thin voice and also the drum skills Travis Barker showcase.

Love race is a song that you will love and make your heart race.

1. "Choker"-Twenty One Pilots

   "Choking on the circumstance
 Self -sabotage is a sweet romance 

Choker is the second single of Twenty One Pilots after Shy Away for their sixth album, Scaled and Icy. The song was released on May 1,2020(Philippine date and time,April 30 for some).

This retro-sounding song id definitely my favorite song from their new album. This song was added to my playlist when I'm empty.

As usual, Tyler Joseph's showcase his relatable and heart-hitting lyrical skill in this song . It seems like this song is written for me because I can really relate to it. This song is comfort and pain in a nutshell.

This song might not be as catchy as the first single, but this is my go-to song.


I really enjoyed music from the past month. The music I can relate to, make me head bang and dance secretly, and make me think and cry about the lyrics.

This,June I'm hoping for more music relases especially in rock, alternative and pop punk genres. And I may write about June releases too, next month.

How about you? What are your favorite music and songs from last month?


Written :June 4,2021 by Nyctofiles

Sponsors of Nyctofiles
empty
empty
empty

7
$ 24.11
$ 24.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Eunoia
$ 0.01 from @kingofreview
Avatar for Nyctofiles
2 years ago

Comments

As soon as I saw Waterparks, I immediately open the article to read it. OMG!! I'm a huge fan of them and I also listen to Machine Gun Kelly , and Olivia

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I just discovered them recently and i had so many things i need to be catch up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dude! You definitely should! They’re an amazing Band! 😍♥️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I will. I will also recommend i dont know how but they found me, dayglow and hippo campus to you. Do u know other bands like them and new alt and modern rock bands?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They’re unfamiliar to me but I’ll check them out. 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm already tired of listening repeatedly to my playlist. Thanks for the song recommendation 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

you did? I recommend 5SOS as well! Pleaseeee also Waterparks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sure suree hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not into this kind of songs but i'm trying to listen to all of them haha will get back to you as soon as i heard all of them lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They're worth listening for. Thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woooaah. Thanks for the recommendations! I also listen to Green Day, half•alive, Twenty-one pilots and Olivia Rodrigo.

I don't know if this is also an alternative rock but Panic! At The Disco songs are good too. Check it out!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You can also check out my past article about my fave album. Just happy to sharw them with others and want to know about urs too https://read.cash/@Nyctofiles/my-top-10-favorite-albums-8de1a498

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you thank you! I'm looking for new music to listen and I'm sure your articles will help me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank u for appreciation. My top 3 artist I'm really into are twenty one pilots, taylor swift and wallows(check them out too). I enjoy listening to Patd too, and otger bands like green day , linkin park and the 1975. Also modern poppunk from mgk, mod sun and others Now im also obsessed with modern rock and new alt and indie from waterparks, half alive, I dont know how but they found me, and dsyglow

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm also a fan of Taylor Swift. I love her songs specially her songs with electric guitar like Better Than Revenge and Story of Us. I'm also a fan of Linkin Park, The 1975 and I don't know how but they found me. I'll check the other bands that you mentioned. Thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Those are good song too, im excited to hear the rerecorded ones. But what i really like from taylor is folklore

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For me, I specially like her reputation album. Many people are saying that it's not her best album because of the sudden change of genre. But for me it was her best album.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Actually it's hard to choose what's her best album. It might be the best because 'we can't have something like reputation '.I've just read that in twitter and I think that's right because of tge reasons that this album is released like issues. Rep is a good album but not my go-to pop album by taylor. But my faves in album are are you ready for it...(i love the rap) call it what you want and i did something bad

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love all songs included in that album. It's a "no-skip" album for me

$ 0.00
2 years ago