Hide-and-Seek (a flash fiction)

3 53
Avatar for Nyctofiles
1 year ago

They haven’t found me yet. I’ve been hiding here for so long. No one knows I'm here.

I’m sure, I already mastered the art of hiding. If hide and seek is a sports, I would become an Olympian. Tag already became a professional sport, I wonder when will hide-and-seek receive same treatment.

Most of the time, when playing hide and seek with my friends or siblings, I am always the last one to be found. I remember, there countless times I fell asleep while hiding. And the time I came out of my hiding spot, the game is already over. My friends already got home. I hate when this happens, why would they give up on finding me. It’s unfair but I got used to it. That’s why I reveal myself after being bored and tired of hiding.

There’s also an instance that my father scolded me,one afternoon. I hid and didn’t eat dinner. He still haven’t seen me until mid night. Then the morning after, he lectured me for hours.

This time,I’m still hiding. No one found me yet.

This place is dark that I can only see my real self there. I can’t see, but I think there are other people hiding here. But who I am to meddle in their own business? We’re just trying to avoid to found.

My actions are limited in this claustrophobic space. I must control my movements so no one will discover me.

It was quiet in there. I just hear murmurs of secrets. Short and almost inaudible chats so no one will found them.

Lonesome, I hide there. With fears and pains.With a heavy chest. Thinking about risks.

Hide and seek was not fun as it used to be. I feel the “it” were predators and I’m the prey hiding. And being found is like losing my life or a part of it . I am trapped. Ain’t it fun.

Of course, this was not child’s play anymore. This was not the game I used to play with my friends and siblings. Not the game I wanted to be in the Olympics. Not the game I’m good at.

It’s s real life. Yet,I’m still hiding. Hiding in this closet. The closet that restricts my actions and suffocates me. The closet that caters us. The closet that hides who I really am.

Why do I still need to hide? When will people accept me when they found me?When will I be free? And not just me, all of us.


I am inspired to write it because it's June,the Pride Month. I quickly wrote this since this month is near to its end. That explains the low read count and vague and unorganized statements and narration.

It's been a while since I wrote a flash fiction. I wish I delivered what I have in my mind. I will appreciate your comments, ideas and criticisms.

Anyway, Happy Pride Month to those who celebrate it! You have my respect, love and appreciation.

Thank you for reading!

Sponsors of Nyctofiles
empty
empty
empty

2
$ 1.09
$ 1.07 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @kli4d
Avatar for Nyctofiles
1 year ago

Comments

Glad to have you back, Nyctofiles :)). Wala pa ring kupas mga flash fiction mo

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Medyo d na busy sa school eh.

Thank you talaga!! Feeling ko talaga welcome ako lagi kung nabalik ako dito dahil sa inyo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Welcome. Lagi ka namang welcome dito hahaha. Medyo mababa na nga lang bigayan ngayon, pero depende pa rin sa content. Bagsak kasi market eh kaya siguro medyo nagtitipid ang mga devs hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago