Less than 1 year into UE4, what have I learned

0 14
Avatar for NolanTheCryptoBoi
4 years ago

It was a summer morning and I was getting frustrated with my Javascript code compiler. Making a simple 2d game was fun, sure, but it took a lot of work. I wanted to create games on a faster, bigger scale. I wanted to have jaw dropping visual effects, and fast paced gameplay. I wanted to create games like nobody had ever created before.

Viola! Unreal Engine.

Unreal Engine is, in all reality, a professional tool and used for building quality games across a wide range of platforms. Unreal Engine’s rendering architecture and blueprints allows developers to achieve stunning visuals and also scale elegantly to lower-end systems. While no coding knowledge is required, as Youtube and Google can handle any technical questions, you can use the code compiler to spice it up with some c++.

I created an account and set to downloading the 9 GB's required to run the editor. After installing it, I immediately set off to the Unreal Marketplace to pick up all, and any free assets, (of which there are hundreds). Armed with meshes of everything from cars to buildings, to people, I began working on my first game.

My first game was just a simple car game, there was finish line, no achievements, just a car that drove along the mountainside.

After that I was hooked, I created anything from space games, to puzzle games. I took to the internet to find out everything I didn't know, and began to understand the complexity of the engine.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for NolanTheCryptoBoi
4 years ago

Comments