How to recharge your Indian mobile phones using Bitcoin

2 50
Avatar for Njaanthanne
4 years ago

I was using crypto for a while as medium for receiving payments from international clients. It was very fast and cheap way compared to the Paypal, But I used to encash those crypto as soon as it reaches at my account, forever broke, lol.

Lately I was hearing bad news about Indian banks, multiple banks like PMC, Yes bank failed. On the good side, RBI removed the ban on cryptocurrency.

If you are reading this article, you might be one who is looking to recharge your prepaid, postpaid bill. Hopefully, you will have a crypto wallet with some balance.

  1. To recharge your phone, you have to buy paytm gift cards using crypto. For that, you need to signup at Bitrefill (referral link ;) )

  1. You can find the Paytm gift card option there. You can buy the gift card of multiple denominations.

  1. Enter your number, and make the payment.

I used coin base option, to pay with my Bitcoin cash (BCC) balance.

  1. Once the payment got confirmed, you will be getting the gift voucher code on your phone.

  1. Login to Paytm and redeem the Gift card. Your balance will reflect within few moments.

Using your Paytm balance, you can recharge you any prepaid, postpaid Indian phone payments. If you are familiar with paytm, they offer a lot of bill payment options. You can do all these payments without touching your bank balance.

Hope this will be useful info, Have a good day :)

2
$ 0.50
$ 0.50 from @ErdoganTalk
Avatar for Njaanthanne
4 years ago

Comments

Interesting. Sounds like paying to bitrefill with BCH requires a coinbase account. Have a look at https://alfa.top/. There you can pay directly with BCH. The question is do they support Indian phone companies?

$ 0.00
4 years ago

I checked alfa.top, and looks like we can recharge directly from there without the help of an middleman like Paytm. I haven't tried that yet, will share my experience when I do.

$ 0.10
4 years ago