Sunrise - Short Story

1 12
Avatar for NinoJade
3 years ago

TITLE: Sunrise 
GENRE: Short Story

Moving and running, my life is not easy. I am a fugitive of the law. Darkness is what I hate. I want to be free from everything. Live the life I wanted. As a thirty-year old man, I feel lonely and depressed. I live in the life of being a thief, knowing none of the other living. I am now going, somewhere. Where no one is able to identify my identity. I want to start a new life, a new chapter.

I travelled overseas and went to this little island named Cavacassa. It is a rural island, and largely independent from the outside world. A great place to start a new life. As the boat is riding across the waters, I feel the cold breeze of freedom ahead. I know, I know, things will be different.

“Welcome to Cavacassa, sir, have a good day!” said the clerk. And I smiled at him and nodded.
.
I am walking down the port in this rural island. I can see the school, hospital, farms, all the society needs, which is great. I know I will love this place, I feel very welcome. 
I reached the town center, and I found children playing. I remember my childhood, the backyard where I play. I miss my family.
.
It is lunch time, and I found this restaurant beside the town hall. It is the only restaurant in town. Foods here are very delicate and good to eat. I was sitting outside the restaurant where the beach view is the best. There are fast foods in the menu, but I want to buy their best seller. 
.
As I’m eating, I found a little girl. She was begging for my food that I ate. I looked at her with pity and despair in my heart. 
.
“You want to take a seat?” I said to her
.
She’s confused, I looked at her in the eyes. She’s very thin, her clothes are worn out. 
.
“Don’t be afraid, I’m good. What do you want to eat?”
.
“Anything you give, sir” she answered. 
.
She sat down. I asked the waiter to order a meal for her. I see the smile in her face, she was hungry.
.
“What is your name?”
.
“Rose”
.
“How old are you, Rose?”
.
“I’m eight”
.
“Where are your parents?”
.
“I don’t know, I was left long before”
.
The waiter came back and served the food. She was eating like there’s no tomorrow, eating every piece of food on the plate. She is happy about it. 
.
“Thank you, mister. Can I give you a hug?”
.
She hugged me. Fell asleep in my arms. I don’t know what to do with this girl. I can’t leave her here. So I took her, for my walk to find a new home. She was comfortable in my arms, she had a nice sleep. 
.
It was nighttime when I found a home beside the beach. It was a renting place, I paid for the rent. There in the bed, I laid her down. 
.
I woke up in the morning, I didn’t knew I fell asleep. I left a note and went out to buy our breakfast and clothes for her. When I came back, she was there, outside playing. 
.
“You okay?” I asked
.
“Yeah” she replied
.
“Would you like to stay with me?”
.
“I’d love to”
.
I served breakfast for us two and gave her decent clothes to wear. We’re having fun time with each other. Played games and sports in the town. We fished in the sea together. We eat together. I was her father and I treat her as my daughter. 
.
Months and days are passing, it was her ninth birthday. I’m planning to surprise her. 
.
I went to the grocery store to buy goods. I saw familiar faces. It was the International Police!! They’ve been catching me for years. They were in the port that night. I see them holding some papers with my face flashed. I have to act fast. I need to hide!! I’ve left the store and headed to my home. I ‘m always careful not to be seen by anybody around. I reached my home immediately. 
.
“Daddy, you looked scared? What’s wrong?”
.
“We need to leave our home now, Rose. Daddy is in danger.”
.
“I’ll explain to you later, okay? Just do what I say. Keep silent”
.
We went out the house. I took her in my side. We need to escape fast. I saw the police opening our house. They now know that I’m here. 
.
I was hiding behind the tree and I think – 
.
“BEHIND THE TREES!!!!” We we’re spotted!! Shit!
.
The police ran towards us. I ran away fast. And I was wrong.
.
“I order you to surrender, freeze and put your hands up”
.
Rose is crying and throwing tantrums. She was in my arm. I never stopped running. 
.
I am thinking. Her life is now in danger. I need to leave her. 
.
“Don’t shoot,” I shouted to them. “I have a child, please keep her safe”
.
“Daddy, no.” she said
.
“I have to, Daddy wants to pay for his sins, okay?”
.
“I want you to give us the child, drop all your weapons and put your hands up.”
.
I raised both my hands and ready to surrender.
.
I heard a gunshot. 
.
I know, I was hit. 
.
“Daddy!!!!” 
.
I heard Rose screaming, more bullets are hitting me. I dropped into the sand. 
.
As I’m losing my consciousness, one thing is for sure. I never been so happy that I found my daughter Rose. Life is very short. You need to love. You need faith. My life is priceless. But now, I am dying while seeing the sunrise. 
.
END

3
$ 0.03
$ 0.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of NinoJade
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for NinoJade
3 years ago

Comments

Such a worderful articles, I know that you are a very good writer and you writing skill is very good.

$ 0.00
3 years ago