How we disturbed the whole neighborhood with an explosion - Rocket Science

14 28
Avatar for NinoJade
3 years ago

How we disturbed the whole neighborhood with an explosion

As a curious teenager, presumably an aspiring scientist (but I want to be businessman because of financial reasons), I found something that is fun and exciting.

Do you know what is it?

A denatured alcohol, also known as paint thinner, which by theory, could be used as a rocket fuel because it is highly flammable. I decided to give it a try.

I unexpectedly went into the Rocket Science Domain where we build some custom rockets. Our rockets are pretty simple, it is made only of water bottles.

Let me explain to you how we did it.

Rocket Fuels are mixed with an oxidizer and ignited to produce thrust. This thrust will make the water bottle fly up in the air. In this case, we used a denatured alcohol as the fuel, and the oxygen in the air as the oxidizer. I will not further explain the details because you might do this at home.

At first, we started small of course. We launched an approximately 1 liter plastic bottle up in the air. We had fun.

I myself found a 10 Liter plastic bottle. It was tremendously large volume, it is about x10 of the previous test. We only inserted small fuel enough to cover the surface area inside the large plastic bottle, or should I say a container.

Because we we're afraid that it might burn us to hell, we made a fuse that is soaked in the alcohol. And ignited it after placing the large plastic container on the Styrofoam platform.

3

2

1

And it was BOOOOOMMM, it exploded. Smoke was everywhere. Almost all the neighborhood heard the explosion. Looks like another day of failed rocket science. We were scolded by by neighbors, but my parents were just laughing.

That was cool, but they said I could get arrested today and might never write this article. HAHAHAHAH.

PS: This event happened today. July 16, 2020

PPS: I apologize for the inconvenience that was caused by the explosion.

3
$ 0.00
Sponsors of NinoJade
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for NinoJade
3 years ago

Comments

I imagine your neighbors' reaction when they heard the explosion hahaha. But that's an interesting and fun :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

AHAHAHA, I was even scolded

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A bit dangerous but we can't deny the fact that it was a fun experiment haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Rocket Science during quarantine?? AHAHAHHAHHA

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well, be extra cautious next time, but i really think it's fun hahha pasabugin mga chismosang kapitbahay HAHAHAH

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ilang taon ka na pala? HAHAHHA

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You guess hahah

$ 0.00
3 years ago

mga 18 or 20? ayaaay

$ 0.00
3 years ago

One of the choices is correct hahah

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'll go with 18

$ 0.00
3 years ago

How did it became a guessing game hahaha sorry dear you got it wrong haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Based on the words you use in writing. Each generation has a recognizable style of writing though.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm not good at guessing ppl's age tho😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

AHAHAH, it is hard at first, but you'll get used to it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago