Equipments we use on NICU

0 27
Avatar for Nicu
Written by
2 years ago

I don't know how can I get a tip here but my husband told me to just write and interact with other users and maybe the system will notice your presene on the platform. So I've taken his advise and hoping this will work out successful.

Yesterday I wrote about a little introduction about myself and the world I work in. And I already wrote that today I'll be talking about the basic equipments that can be found on a Neonatal Intensive Care Unit. It might sound not interesting for others but still with lots of users here on read.cash, i hope that others can relate or get interested on this kind of topics. So let us begin. 😉

Basic equipments that you can see on NICU

There would be tons of equipments on NICU but I'm just gonna discuss only the basics.

1. Monitor - we monitor the baby's heart rate and rhythm, as well as how fast they were bretahing with leads. So we put leads on each side of the chest and one of their abdomen. This gonna provide us the baby's heart rate and what kind of rhythm looks like as well as how fast the baby is breathing. These are important numbers that we monitor for 24 hours.

2. Pulse oximeter - we use this equipment to monitor one of the important numbers, the baby's oxygen level. It is a red sticky probe wrap around baby's arm or hand and this gonna give us the reading of the oxygen level of the baby. This is how we know to manage the baby's repsiratory equipment. We can go1 up or down on oxygen needs based on those numbers.

3. Blood pressure cuff - this equipment looks like the one we uses but a little more smaller. We used it to monitor the blood pressure of the baby.

Final words

As i have said before, there are tons of equipments inside the NICU but those above mentioned are themost basics equipment. These equipments are used the monitor the vital signs of the baby. And when you say "vital", it is very important.

I will end this article by saying thank you for sparing your time reading this and God bless us all

4
$ 0.00
Avatar for Nicu
Written by
2 years ago

Comments