A Tribal Ceremony Called "Dang-ol"

0 17
Avatar for Niceeville
3 years ago

It was my first time to witness a Higaonon ceremony called "Dang-ol" which means to ordain or to anoint a person to become a "Datu". A Datu is someone who is considered very reputable in a local tribe. One can only become a Datu if he belongs to a royal family. He can inherit this title once he comes to a certain age. Additionally, even if a person is not one of the royals, he may also be ordained to become a Datu with exceptional deeds done for the benefit of the tribe.

The whole event took almost 8 hours to finish. It had several rituals that were performed by the elders of the tribe. And although I didn't really understand everything I heard from the elders during the ceremony, I somehow picked up a few words I learned by frequently overhearing some family members speaking their native language. That experience was truly one of a kind for me.

The Higaonon tribe's history is truly fascinating and encouraging. And I couldn't be any prouder and more grateful that I got the chance of knowing and becoming a part of the Higaonon tribe.

3
$ 0.26
$ 0.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Prudence

Comments