Fear You Don't Own Me

0 23
Avatar for NethFidelis
3 years ago

Lyrics excerpt from Free To Be Me (by Francesca Battistelli)

Sick and tired of being sick and tired
Had of much of you as I can take
I'm so done, so over being afraid

I've gone through the motions
I've been back and forth
I know that you're thinking you've heard this before
I don't know how to say it
So I'm just gonna say it

Fear, you don't own me
There ain't no room in this story
And I ain't got time for you
Telling me what I'm not
Like you know me well guess what?
I know who I am
I know I'm strong
And I am free
Got my own identity
So fear, you will never be welcome here

Take a minute, let it settle in
You probably never saw it coming
Something's gotta give so I give up you, oh
There's no room for you here
Yeah, I've had enough
No vacancy sign on my heart is lit up
In case you didn't hear it
Here it is again

I’ve been listening to her songs lately and all I can say is, it’s very empowering. One of her songs that I want to elaborate its meaning, in my own opinion, is Free to be Me.

It talks on how fear is present in our lives. From the moment we were born to the moment we die, fear is always present. May it fear to take the next step when we were toddlers or fear to say goodbye to our loved ones. Fear is a feeling that is inevitable and its like part of human nature.

There are so many kinds of fear, may it physical or emotional. Fear to be departed by your dying loved ones, fear to be alone in this world, fear of cockroaches, fear in robbers etc.,.

I have one experience when I’m in my middle school that I’m so afraid of being in the second place that I did something unacceptable. I cheated on our 3rd periodical exam. I’ve always wanted to make my parents proud of me so I’m maintaining my 1st honor grades for quite some time. Then, here comes a transferee that I know, can beat me academically. That’s the horrible thing I did that tarnished my reputation.

You know, fear on something or someone can make people do bad, injustice things. If you let fear consume into your senses and whole being, you will get drag into the bottom without you knowing.

As I’ve come to my senses on that day also, I’ve regretted what I did, called the attention of my homeroom teacher and confessed everything. It did create a quite impact on my studies and even relationship with my classmates and teachers. But you know, I’ve tried to gain their trust and respect again by working hard diligently and honestly.

Fear, also is a hindrance on anything that you wanted to achieve. You fear in failure so you’re keeping a safe distance in any risk or opportunity that will become failure. You’ll also lose courage if you let it rule you. If you don’t let fear rule you, you will reach your full potential in anything you want.

Fear is just a feeling created by your in depth emotion. You just have to overcome it to face everything bravely and courageously. As the title says, fear you don’t own me. :)

In every fear you conquer, the more bravery you get in facing this world. In the midst of this pandemic may we be strong to conquer and overcome this stage of our lives. And always remember, our God is greater than any fear there is in this world.

Cheering you always,

LuAmaris / NethFidelis

5
$ 0.00
Avatar for NethFidelis
3 years ago

Comments