Haunted school and Hills

0 26
Avatar for Naturalist
2 years ago

Haunted USA: WAVERLY HILLS SANATORIUM OF KENTUCKY 🖤👻

A little history:

• once upon a time, in 1883, a man by the name of Thomas J Hays purchased some land that rest peacefully on Pages lane in Louisville, Kentucky. He started a "one room" schoolhouse there and decided to hire a teacher. Her name was Lizzie Lee Harris. Lizzie loved teaching, and reading Mr. Thomas's "Waverly novels" Sooooo much, she nicknamed the school house "Waverly School." Thomas liked this name exceptionally and so he dubbed his land "Waverly Hill." Eventually the land was purchased by the city, and the board of tuberculosis hospital decided to keep this name once construction of a hospital began in 1908. By 1910, the hospital was up and running and open for business. Tuberculosis became an epidemic in Jefferson County, so much so, it was decided to expand the hospital. Due to the tuberculosis epidemic, the Sanatorium was in itself it's very own "town." Even having it's own zip code, along with a post office, water treatment facility, garden, and slaughterhouse. Everyone at Waverly – patients, nurses, doctors, and other employees had to say 'goodbye' to everything they knew on the outside world. Once you went to Waverly Hills, you became a permanent resident "on the hill." Eventually the building was so massive that it could contain up to 400+ residents, by 1926. The hospital ran successfully until 1961 when an antibiotic was discovered to treat tuberculosis. The building was shut down, quarantined, and then renovated. Opened back up as a geriatric center in 1962, and again Closed by the state in 1981.

The death Tunnel of Waverly Hills

• Few tunnels have quite the reputation of the one located at 4400 paralee Lane in Louisville, Kentucky. The tunnel was originally built as an entrance and exit for the staff of Waverly Hills. During the time of the tuberculosis epidemic, the death toll was approximately 1 death per day. At the height of the diseases effect on the ward, bodies would be transported through the tunnel periodically. There's even talk of a "body chute" Created so that the remaining living patients wouldn't have to witness the bodies being taken through the tunnel as it was said to lower patient morale and "cause" More fatalities. It is speculated that in over 50 years of functionality, the overall death toll is somewhere between 8,000-9,000 (according to one source) while others believe it could be as high as 63,000.

Hauntings, speculation, and allegations.

• there's many legends when it comes to Waverly Hills. Mostly steming from the fact so many died there, and rumors of gruesome experiments and abuse to the elderly patients when the facility became a nursing home. One story that stands out in particular is the rumored suicide of a pregnant nurse in front of room 502. The room is located on the 5th floor and is notoriously said to be the most active by paranormal investigators and your guests. Allegedly, the nurse hung herself due to a pregnancy out of wedlock. Other variations say that the nurse was actually murdered. Stabbed to death by a crazed patient. Unfortunately no evidence has yet been put forward to confirm these claims however, many people have had spine tingling experiences in or near room 502 upon visitation.

Treatments were said to be just as bad a tuberculosis itself. By todays standards, they would definitely seem barbaric. Here's a list of some of the methods used to treat the disease:

• Sun rooms - said to be used to expose patients lungs to ultraviolet light in order to stop the spreading of bacteria.

• "fresh air" - fresh air was thought to also be a possible cure, patients were often placed in front of huge windows or on the open porches, no matter what the season. Old photographs show patients lounging in chairs, taking in the fresh air, while literally covered with snow.

• "balloons" - surgically implanted in a patients lungs and then filled with air to expand them.

• removal of muscles and ribs - said to also allow the expansion of the lungs

Geriatric allegations:

• electroshock therapy was said to be used for a variety of ailments.

"By 2001, the once stately building had been nearly destroyed by time, the elements and the vandals who came here looking for a thrill. Waverly Hills had become the local “haunted house” and it became a magnet for the homeless, looking for shelter, and teenagers, who broke in looking for ghosts. The hospital soon gained a reputation for being haunted and stories began to circulate of resident ghosts like the little girl who was seen running up and down the third floor solarium, the little boy who was spotted with a leather ball, the hearse that appeared in the back of the building dropping off coffins, the woman with the bleeding wrists who cried for help and others. Visitors told of slamming doors, lights in the windows as if power was still running through the building, strange sounds and eerie footsteps in empty rooms.".💀THE HAUNTED SCHOOL🏫

Adventure 2

"The name of your dormitory is Marriere Hall.It is located at the fourth building by your left. And your bunk bed number is no.4", the administrator voice echoed into memory as I walked through the school's premises dragging my luggage along with me.

Minutes after being given my admission no., school's uniform and other items, mom left. But not without advising me to a good girl, obey all orders before complain and the rest which I listened to absent mindedly.

I looked round the environment, everything looked odd. The trees all had dried leaves and most of it were scattered around on the ground. With the atmosphere, I could feel some demonic precedence and operation around the school.

I eventually got to my dormitory, located my bunk bed and started to off load my luggage with some girls in the room. They looked at me pitiful.

Later in the evening, I was told the direction of the bathroom as I needed to have my bath. I walked briskly to the direction of the bathroom with my torch in my hands.

When I got to the door leading to the hall, I saw a sign signifying I was about to enter the bathroom entry. I turned the knob of the door, twisted it and entered.

All lights suddenly went off showing total darkness. I stood there transfixed and confused. I felt a shadow passed speedily behind me.

I turned pointing my torch shaking at the direction but only saw a door widely opening. The entrance looked very dark.

Unseen hands started engraving some mysterious words on the wall; Me Soyuz pas tente d'entrer, pas d'echappatoire. I looked on fearfully. A mighty wind blew from the windows into the entrance making the door shut with a great force.

The words gradually faded and the door vanished. Regaining myself from the shock I ran out of the bathroom with full speed.

👻👻

I hastily ran in the direction of a magnificent building afar off. The spirits kept coming after me. The more I ran, the farther the building became.

I raced faster until I saw a large opened grave at my front. I stopped abruptly, ruminating on how, why the grave came about.

I made a sudden change of direction but the spirits kept advancing, seething their teeth in anger. Their mouths were dripping blood and their claw-like nails moved swiftly.

  • I shook my head "no.. no..don't come near me. Please don't come any closer ", I pleaded continuously moving backward.

Sponsors of Naturalist
empty
empty
empty

7
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Naturalist
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Naturalist
2 years ago

Comments