Snowden recommends THIS operating system: Tails

2 24
Avatar for NaomiBrockwell
2 years ago

If you want more privacy on the internet, the operating system you choose plays a crucial role. We’ve all heard of Windows and Mac, but the “Tails” operating system puts privacy first. Snowden, Glenn Greenwald, and Laura Poitras swear by it.

Tails aims to “do the right thing” right out of the box by default, to protect less tech-savvy users from the most likely and highest impact risks to their privacy.

On of the most interesting aspects:

It wipes the memory of the system every time you log off, leaving no trace of what was done on the computer.

You run if from a USB stick, and it doesn’t affect anything else on your computer.

To be clear, this isn’t going to be your every day system: It’s an extreme privacy measure for high risk people like activists and journalists. But if you don’t like the idea of everything you do on the internet being monitored, this might be an option to try out.

I’ll walk you through how to install Tails, how to use it, and will go over important warnings you need to know when using it.

00:00 - What is Tails?

02:52 - How to Install Tails

06:29 - How to Use TAILS

07:00 - Important Warnings

07:53 - My Takeaways

Give Tails a try, you might be pleasantly surprised.

Find the full instructions for download: https://tails.boum.org/

Brought to you by Jason Nelson, Lee Rennie, Will Sandoval, and Naomi Brockwell

To make a tax-deductible (in the US) donation to NBTV, visit https://www.nbtv.media/support

Sign up for the free CryptoBeat newsletter here: https://cryptobeat.substack.com/

Beware of scammers, I will never give you a phone number or reach out to you with investment advice. I do not give investment advice.

Visit the NBTV website: https://nbtv.media

#privacy #surveillance #security #snowden #tails

4
$ 2.52
$ 2.51 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @jlariviere
Sponsors of NaomiBrockwell
empty
Avatar for NaomiBrockwell
2 years ago

Comments

Hi Naomi!!! One of your videos was one of the first crypto videos I ever saw, so I am so glad to find you on here, yay! <3 My mom taught me about the importance of privacy when I was still in grade school, and then on my 15th bday recently she told me about BCH...so learning more abouit privacy + BCH in one place is super awesome.

I am not very technical with computers and stuff, but I downloaded Tails to a USB stick and am going to try it out, thank you for the guide. Anything you can suggest as a guide after tails is installed? Like maybe a page that shows stuff you can do with Tails, etc?

And I subscribed to you, and hope I can get to talk to you some time in person, you are my favorite person in all of crypto, love you naomi. :))) Even if you just said hi sometime it would make my day!! (heart eyes emojis, lol)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tor is unnecessarily slow so no thanks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago