Govt to BAN End-to-End Encryption!

14 58
Avatar for NaomiBrockwell
3 years ago

This week a bill was introduced called the “lawful access to encrypted data act.” It would give the government access to your most private communication, and put backdoors in your devices and apps.

Companies must be able to decrypted all data upon request, and if a company’s system doesn’t allow for this decryption, they can be required to redesign their system.

End-to-end encryption enables us to have private, secure communications in an increasingly insecure world. It protects human rights workers, journalists, activists, citizens from hostile governments, governments from hostile foreign agents, domestic abuse sufferers: All levels of society rely on private communications.

But Attorney General Bill Barr says the government should have access to everything. He said “Companies should not deliberately design their systems to preclude any form of access to content.”

The idea that government “can’t catch the bad guys” unless they break our end-to-end-encryption is false.

As Apple said: "Law enforcement today has access to more data -- data which they can use to prevent terrorist attacks, solve crimes and help bring perpetrators to justice -- than ever before in the history of our world. ... We believe it would be wrong to weaken security for hundreds of millions of law-abiding customers so that it will also be weaker for the very few who pose a threat."

Officials like to say surveillance is for the “good of the nation”, but they mean the nation state, ie it helps the people in power keep their power. They don’t mean for the good of the citizens. In fact, weakening the privacy of every citizen makes us all much worse off.

Fight the EARN IT Bill and the LAWFUL ACCESS TO ENCRYPTED DATA Act here: https://act.eff.org/action/stop-the-earn-it-bill-before-it-breaks-encryption

Send me a message here:

https://cointr.ee/naomibrockwell

I fund my channel entirely with community support. If you would like to become a member of NBTV, all the membership options are here:

Naomibrockwell.com/memberships

Huge thank you to all the members who keep this channel running!

Store:

https://teespring.com/stores/naomibrockwell

Learn more about the "Lawful access to encrypted data" act:

https://www.eff.org/deeplinks/2020/06/senates-new-anti-encryption-bill-even-worse-earn-it-and-thats-saying-something

Learn more about CDA230:

https://www.eff.org/issues/cda230/infographic

#privacy #surveillance #encryption #orwell #security

Sponsors of NaomiBrockwell
empty

15
$ 1.81
$ 1.00 from @nyusternie
$ 0.50 from @emergent_reasons
$ 0.21 from @TheRandomRewarder
+ 1
Avatar for NaomiBrockwell
3 years ago

Comments

@NaomiBrockwell if this was your first time posting both LBRY and those other guys, please DON'T STOP .. Thank you 🙏 Also, kinda cool that I could slow you down to .75x and prolong the NBTV experience for just a bit longer 😉

$ 0.00
3 years ago

lolol Glad you liked the video :) Big fan of LBRY, I try to support them whenever I can! <3

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Naomi, if you can enable the Sponsors tab on your account, i'd be glad to be a sponsor. Please let me know if and when you do.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I didn't even know there was a sponsors tab! Thank you so much!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Just add the [sponsors] tag in any of your posts and the platform will do the rest for you. I don't have a lot of earnings on the platform yet so i'll just do the bare minimum amount of sponsor but i'll be sure to increase it as and when I earn more, I promise :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is a really cool feature! Thank you for letting me know about it, and for your support! I really appreciate it!! <3

$ 0.00
3 years ago

YAYAY I just got a notification that I have my first sponsor!!! Thank you!!! 💛🙏

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Again, kinda embarrassed for the small amount but like I said, once I start making more, I will definitely increase my sponsorship amounts! :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's more than I was getting before!! I really appreciate your support :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are very kind! Thank you!

Also, I watch all your videos on Lbry. Huge fan! Please keep doing what you're doing. We also need more women in tech such as yourself. I am sure you are a role model for many women out there!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

How is that even possible? I thought end to end encryption is something like Bitcoin which cannot be banned. It's just a technology right? What is there are decentralized companies that work on it and no single entity?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Anything can be banned, the real question is whether it can be stopped. Govt can force big companies to do anything. So the future of privacy lies in the hands of those who are building decentralized systems that can't be coerced or shut down.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will do that

$ 0.00
3 years ago

<3

$ 0.00
3 years ago