Fatherly Love

8 23
Avatar for Nanlising
3 years ago

Father's day is fast approaching. Have you prepared something for him? I believe there are things in your creative mind planning on what to present. Might be a cake? Cook his favourite food? Give him a present? Treat him to his fave restaurant or spa? Give him new haircut? Make a simple card?, or so on.

In my case, my dad is in our province so I cannot do any of the questions I mentioned. I will just ring his phone and greet him a happy father's day. Well, it is sad because I cannot visit our place due to pandemic.

Anyway, my father was a politician before. He once an accomplished barangay captain and became one if the counsilors in our town once. He wrote and passed some of the bills before but I have no knowledge as to what were those for I was just a kid before. However, things did not come the way he perceived. He lost many times and never got the chance to sit again. Well, because he has this vise called hard alcohol drinker, as I say. The time he is drunk, he becomes boastful. His friends, colleagues, neighbours dislike his behaviour especially when they attended an accasion like a wedding where they come home drunk. My family hears a lot of stories my dad said when he is drunk and it pains us but its true. He destroyed his own reputation thus, his accomplishments becomes nothing.

He was then advised to stop into politics and focus on to his family, so he did. My mom was a teacher so our dad became a homemaker. He takes care of me and my siblings by bathing, cooks food, washes our clothes, cleans our home, feed our animals, and so on. He became sweet and caring to his family so much. I remember when we ask him money he does not ask questions what to buy but when we ask our mom, there are a lot of questions before handing it to us. Our favorite bonding with our dad was when he recreates dishes into something that makes us eat the food. He always make sure also that when we have visitors, he prepares better meals and reserve something for us. He buys us medicine and vitamins. Bring us to a doctor when we get sick.

When me and my siblings now started school, he went into farming. He plants rice in a small parcel of land his parents gave him when he got married. He even planted fruit trees that we are always looking forward to every time we go home to taste its sweetness.

Remembering our college years when he sends us sacks of rice, box of vegetables, and a kilo of our favourite dried fish called tuyo every month.

Growing up, I saw how good hearted my dad is despite the fact that he is still a hard-drinker. When our relatives come to him asking for help, money or in kind, he sees to it and tries his best to offer what he can.

My dad has many positive traits that I believe we learned a lot from him. As we are also practicing up to now that we have our own families. He instilled to us not to steal and always be honest. Be contented with what we have. The values he taught us remained in our hearts that we can share to our children. One important thing he taught as is to always pray. Even my mom also who instilled to us that prayer is powerful. And that, we are living on it everyday.

I am missing my dad so much. Communicating with him through phone is not enough as I have not seen him for months now. That I miss him so.

He is now in his senior years but he still has the strength for farming is his life. His animals as well, chicken and ducks.

Sharing it with you because I am proud that he is my daddy; and, I and my siblings my siblings, together with families love him so much. 💙

Thank you for your time.

P. S. Happy Father's Day to all daddy/father/papa out there.

2
$ 0.13
$ 0.07 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Telesfor
Sponsors of Nanlising
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Nanlising
3 years ago

Comments

Thank you @Telesfor for upvoting my article. It meant so much.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

No way!! Are you real? Well, you know even how small or big you share is already a blessing. My heart is full because someone appreciated my article even it is a low-key article. Thank you again, @Telesfor

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Find a good community to submit your articles ( or create your own). And read the articles of read.cash if you want to learn about the platform.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I actually created one, Nature's Beauty. It's my 5th day that's why am still learning and trying my best to read and understand the updates.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, that's the best way. Keep your community clean, otherwise you might lose your featured status.

I also have a similar one "Photography (Nature photos)", but I only accept photos of nature.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, am trying. We have similar topic but mine is a little bit broader.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I deliberately made it a little narrower. It makes it easier to distinguish what I accept and what I reject. I have created clear criteria.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Though I focused also on nature, I also included tourist spots to be promoted to help at least our tourism here.

$ 0.00
3 years ago