My Journey as an Author - 5

0 44
Avatar for NKvM
Written by
7 months ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Writing, Experiences, Story, ...

Things are shaping up nicely. Today, I created my subreddit, which will serve as a place to post about writing. I think it is far from building a proper community, but will help in creating links to my various work, and can grow into something with time and effort. This does help, though not as much as in the past. Search engines are a little more developed, and know which links matter, and which don't.

That said, work on my serial is going great. I finished two more sections, which are going in the vault. I will hopefully be approved for Simily, but that looks like it will happen close to the end of the month. Apparently, they will send me an email if I am accepted or not. I will be rather disappointed if they reject me. But there are other options.

I am looking at Smashwords, Royal Road, and Wattpad right now, but I do not want to go that route. Same as with Amazon KDP, or Kindle Vella. I am well aware of how those systems work, and do not feel like they will provide me what I want. It is easy to make money, but there is little to no engagement or community building outside of certain niches. Even then, you have to be a prolific writer, which favors quantity over quality. This whole project is about leading into my main writing, and is not a simple attempt to pay the bills.

Even so, having a platform to post is more important that principles. And, content can be migrated in time. It is not best, but demanding perfection is not a virtue. Nothing will be perfect. We can only attempt to be better, and learn from our mistakes.

In all, I expect to produce three pieces of content on top of one serial installment, and my original writing in a day of work. I have so far exceeded this schedule, and think it can be maintained with ease. That may change, especially as I see more engagement from readers.

Writing content for places like Publish0x has been interesting, especially seeing what content attracts more views. It is as I expected. I have even been spot on with tipping estimates. Most readers key off certain words, and tip accordingly, even if they do not read the article in full.

2
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for NKvM
Written by
7 months ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Writing, Experiences, Story, ...

Comments