My Journey as an Author - 15

0 19
Avatar for NKvM
Written by
7 months ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Writing, Experiences, Story, ...

Consternation!

I am stuck having to do some light edits to my work on Pearl of the Cultivators. Apparently, I don't have enough resource cap to post the chapters, which is annoying. In time, it won't be a problem, as I will stock more Hive Power, but until that, it is easier to just split the chapters differently. I am thinking of making two installments out of Chapter 0.

Still, I am annoyed.

In other news, I have got my ducks in a row for Preptober. I am developing my outline for my book, which is to say I am considering a few too many options. I want something I will have fun writing, but also something straightforward to keep it in target. I typically write longer works, and so 50,000 words is not that much. Professionally, that's just five days of billing for me. But constraints are good to develop new ideas, skills, and practices. Maybe it would be good if I drilled down deep and got to the heart of a story, and stayed there.

I am thinking I want adventure. Action. A twist. But I am not sure how to develop connection with those in mind. It is hard to make people feel worry, or stress when you have heroes fighting heroically. The outcome is assured. There must be stakes. Death and loss in the offing.

I have an idea of someone on the outside. Imagine a clone, or doppelganger of a main character, watching evens unfold. What are their choices? Do they reveal themselves, intervene, replace? As a substitute, they don't have plot armor. Indeed, there is almost an expectation one will die. But do you feel the same for a clone? Do you get hot under the collar and angry when they suffer? Happy when they triumph?

I will have to play around and figure these things out. Until then, I am still gathering good ideas, setting, and plot elements. But I'm always doing that.

In other news, I posted a few things on Medium under a new account, and was surprised to get some immediate interest. I have found it takes a little longer to develop traffic. The content helped, I'm sure, as it has a large audience and interest, but I never would have taken that for granted. It may be in my interest to post more, and regularly, to keep things going.

Happy Preptober!

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for NKvM
Written by
7 months ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Writing, Experiences, Story, ...

Comments