I received a fake call! Truecaller app and a victim's suggestions

3 32
Avatar for Musso
Written by
3 years ago

After completing my dinner I pick up my phone and started scrolling through my feed just like every other day.

Suddenly my phone started vibrating and I saw a call from an unknown number from a local operator.

As I don't receive calls from unknown numbers whoever it is but I was very curious to know who is this calling at this time of the day. I didn't imagine that this is not a normal call.

I just thought maybe one of my friend or some relative called me. I was very wrong about my assumptions and after vibrating my phone for three times than I received the call.

After receiving the call I thought it would have been better if I didn't receive the call.

Here is what happened after I received the call:

Just like everyone I said hello and after exactly five seconds the call hang up without any response or any sound or any sign of human. I didn't hear not a single word from the other end.

I enabled auto call recording system in my phone previously. As the call hang up I went directly to the call recording and start listening attentively.

Believe me or not I've listened that call almost 10 ten times consecutively but every single time I heard three bips and nothing else.

If this was a human than at least I should have heard his breathing or a sign of human. But I didn't heard anything from the call and it triggered a suspect in my mind. After the call hang up few questions came to my mind.

  • If this was a wrong number call than why I heard three bips?

  • If this was wrong number than that person would apologize that he had dialed a wrong number?

None of the above things happened and my curiosity increased a lot. Well yes I already made a mistake by receiving the call and I should not received the call. As I've received so I should get to know what this call really was?

So I went to Google and searched by typing I received a call and after saying hello the call hang up. After seeing the search results my jaw dropped a bit.

This call was not made by a real human or a person and this was a intentional call. This call was generated by a computer software which have the ability to generate random mobile operator numbers.

It was defined as Robo-call as not a real person called.Everyday thousands of Robo-calls are made by the computer.

The computer only want to know if the number is active or not. Maybe a scam method they try to make sure the target number is active so that they can scam in future.

These are the results that shocked me when I discovered them on the internet and now I regret I shouldn't received it first time.

After all this things happened to me I shared everything to my elder brother that received a call from an unknown number. As soon as I say hello the call hang up and I heard nothing but three bips.

Than my brother suggested me to install an app called Truecaller. I'll write about this app on my other part of my article.

But first let me suggest you something if you've received a Robo-call or calls from unknown numbers. As I'm a victim of this stuffs so I know the risks. So I'm warning you as well as give you suggestion.

1)Whoever it is never ever receive a call from any unknown number. To make sure this person really needs you or your relative or to make sure this is not wrong number don't receive the call first time.

If the person really needs you or a true person than he'll call you second time oviously. Just let go the first call and wait for the second call. I should have done this when I received the call but I don't have anything to do now.

2) I'm begging you never ever dare to call back to the unknown number. I know you are curious to know just like me but don't do the mistake I did.

Though I didn't called back as I've suspected before. If you experienced this call just let it go and never call it back.

3)If you already received the call don't share your personal informations please and don't say yes to anything.

Though it's a Robo-Call sometimes it has some pre set words. You may think you are talking to a real person but this is a recorded call.

I've read that the call is automatically recorded and they'll try to scam the user by their voice. Can you imagine how bad minded a person can be?

I'll suggest you not to receive it but if you do it already than don't say yes.

So here are a simple but very effective benefit of Truecaller as my brother told me how can I get rid of these fake calls.

Truecaller on Playstore

If I had Truecaller app installed on my device than:

- It will automatically blocked calls from unknown numbers.

- If the number is unknown than Truecaller app will show its name.That means if the number is unknown you can see the caller name.

If I had Truecaller than I would get to know the name of the caller.

I would like to suggest you if you receive fake calls more often and disgust you just like me you can use Truecaller app for this reason.

And again I'm telling you don't make the same mistake I did.

3
$ 8.28
$ 8.28 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Musso
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Musso
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Well, its true there have been some robo call scams in the past that used this to build a database of active numbers to which they then later sent spam or scam messages, like phising scams and the like.

But to just block all unknown callers just wouldn't work, at least not in my country. 70% of the people i know always call with number id turned off (ie. unknown) and most of the government/municipal organisations call with "unknown" caller id's.

These days using robo-call methods to get a database of active numbers isn't used anymore. It's way easier just to send the scam/spam messages out to millions of phone numbers at once, using numbers in sequence. (for example all numbers ending with 1000000 to 9999999) as they then reach all active numbers anyway.

And if you don't use some rooted, hacked and customized software on your phone, as well as use common sense when you get a message in your inbox the chances you'll be the victim of some sinister Russian/Nigerian/Indian/Chineze scam h4xx0r soldier group are slim to none.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

As I've no idea about what a Robo-Calls actually and never experienced it before. I've searched on the internet and got thousands of results regarding this.

I'm very much grateful that you've shared lots of information with me and I came to know more about these calls.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Greatest weapon against scammers and h4xx0rz..... Common sense... Remember that and you're gonna be fine.

$ 0.00
3 years ago