Former Yugoslavia

3 26
Avatar for Musician
2 years ago

The question is whether the states of the former Yugoslavia will be together again. Most people in the Balkans would probably say no. I am sure that Yugoslavia will never be called again, but everything says that the states of former Yugoslavia will be together again in the future. The European Union will reunite them.

My parents lived part of their lives in Yugoslavia. They told me that life was very nice during the time of Josip Broz Tito. I was born in SFRY, but I don't remember that period, because I was very young. One anecdote I heard is very interesting to me. Friends from several Yugoslav states met on the coast of Croatia in a restaurant. They drank, ate and finally quarreled over who would pay the bill. It shows that people from the Balkans are gentlemen. 😊 Now I would like to briefly talk about the countries of the former Yugoslavia.

Croatia

When I think of Croatia, I am immediately on their coast. The most beautiful and unique is Damlatia. Split, Zadar, Pula, Rovinj are dream coastal cities. If you go there once you will come back for sure a few more times. The capital of Croatia is Zagreb and Croatia is a member of the European Union.

Slovenia

When I think of Slovenia, the first thing that comes to my mind is the company Gorenje. Gorenje for the Balkans is like Bosch in Germany. Slovenia is well organized country that is said to be a small Switzerland by system. Lake Bled is a destination I would recommend for a tour. If I could choose, of all the countries of the former Yugoslavia, I would choose Slovenia for life. The capital of Slovenia is Ljubljana. Slovenia is a member of the European Union.

Macedonia

Macedonians are very good people. They are smiling and are very positive, perhaps the happiest people in the Balkans. I pass through Macedonia once a year when I go to Greece on vacation. What I would recommend for a tour is Doiran Lake. It is located on the border with Greece, so it is a great place to take a break. The capital city of Macedonia is Skopje.

Bosnia and Herzegovina

The first thing that comes to my mind when I think of Bosnia and Herzegovina are "ćevapi" or kebabs in English. The best kebabs in the entire Balkans are in "Baščaršija". People from all over the former Yugoslavia and from all over the world come to eat kebabs. Feel free to decide on a trip just for kebabs and you won't go wrong. Famous name, Nobel prize winning author, Ivo Andric. Ivo Andric is one of the most famous writers in former Yugoslavia. The capital city is Sarajevo.

Montenegro

When I think of Montenegro, I am immediately in Kotor. The old town of Kotor is a city that breathes. Kotor is alive at any time of the year, it is full of tourists and everyone comes back to visit it again and again. It is most beautiful to me in the spring, before the beginning of summer. Of course, Budva, Bar, Ulcinj, these are coastal places that you should not skip if you come to visit Montenegro. The capital is Podgorica.

Serbia

I wrote about Serbia in one of the previous articles. If you asked me what you should definitely visit, it is the following: Fruska Gora near Novi Sad, rafts on the Danube and Sava in Belgrade, mountains Kopaonik, Tara, Zlatibor, Vlasina Lake located near Surdulica in southern Serbia, Palic Lake in Subotica in the north of Serbia. This is a lot for the first visit to Serbia, we have to leave something for the second visit. 😊

Closing thoughts

In the end, I would say that I am sorry that we are no longer Yugoslavia and that I would like to be a whole again. I would like to have been born at least 30 years earlier so that I could feel the charms of Yugoslavia and not just to look at pictures and listen to stories. If the forecasts of politicians are true, by 2030, all Yugoslav states will be in the European Union. Here is my reason to rejoice. 😊

Thanks a lot for reading. All content is original.

Stay well and safe!

8
$ 2.26
$ 2.11 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Alther
$ 0.05 from @Jelena
+ 2
Sponsors of Musician
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Musician
2 years ago

Comments

I've always been interested in visiting the countries of former Yugoslavia. They each seem to have their own character. Perhaps that's what pulled them apart after the dissolution of the Soviet Union.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Welcome 😊 The Soviet Union is Russia .... The former Yugoslavia is in the Balkans

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, what I meant to say is that Tito always managed to thread a needle between East and West, but after he died in 1980, and the Soviet Union began coming apart around 1990, the glue that held Yugoslavia together was no longer enough to unite the Balkans.

$ 0.00
2 years ago