Being a slave to things

6 19
Avatar for Musician
2 years ago

I got 20 years older in just 7 days. Moving led me to write this article. Moving is the most stressful situation of all the jobs I’ve done. It seems simple and easy, but when you start moving, you realize that it is a huge stress.

From personal experience I can say that moving is a job for professionals. I will start article here.

We sold the family apartment and the new owner wanted us to vacate the apartment in 7 days. We found a truck and a few friends helped with the move. On the first day of packing, we realized that it was impossible to vacate the apartment in 7 days. My grandparents lived there, it's 80 years of someone's life, and you have to admit that a lot can be done in 80 years. My dad and mom lived there, it's another 50 years of different things. My sister and I lived there. Hell begins. 😀 But let's start.

We can start from books. One whole van was full of books and my mom said we don't go anywhere without books lol. Each of us has said that does not go without certain things. Each room had one large closet, and the apartment was huge. Bed, living room (two beds and armchair). Children's room, two beds and two desks. Kitchen with all elements and appliances (refrigerator, stove). All the machines, closets in the hallway. Each room had one rug, plus another as a spare. I wrote briefly about everything in the apartment that could be disassembled and assembled. Don't forget that all those closets were full of wardrobes. Three generations as I said above. I can't even talk about the little things.

We realized that all this could not fit in three trucks, and we provided only one. We came to the conclusion that we have to donate or throw away two thirds of things. This is where the biggest problem arises. How to throw away memories. How to throw away something that has lived with you for so many years.

We agreed to do a good deed. Dad’s worker from the firm where he worked was a poor man. We gave him the whole kitchen, the living room, and almost all the closets. I have the impression that he was the happiest man in the world at the time. And we were very happy because he was happy and we didn't throw anything away.

This is not the end, it all needs to be taken out later and put together in a new space. Then follows another combing as I then called it. Believe it or not, when we arrived in the new space, we threw away half of the things we took with us. That says we were just struggling and packing something we didn’t need. It's all over, now we just remember that period.

In the end, I would say from my personal experience that everything you don't need for a year, you never need. Since that move, my family and I have not been slaves to things. We immediately put together everything we don't need and give it to someone who needs it. And memories are in the head, we keep them in mind. When you understand that, then moving will be easy for you, mentally. And boxes must be carried, that is inevitable. If you ever move. 😊

Thanks a lot for reading. All content is original.

Stay well and safe!

5
$ 2.02
$ 1.92 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Alther
$ 0.05 from @Jelena
Sponsors of Musician
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Musician
2 years ago

Comments

Good luck to your new place my friend.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Although we unknowingly become slaves to things. But I try to move on from it. Yes i agree with you. We don't have to be slaves to things, we have to remember that.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's simple, let's just give someone what we don't need anymore. Then we are happy and satisfied. And the closet is not full 😀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not attached to things anymore. I moved a lot of times. I throw away everything I don't need. You're right, we don't have to be a slaves to things.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Everything you don't need for a year, and it's in the apartment, so you never need it 😊 Bravo!

$ 0.00
2 years ago