Five versions of songs as good or better than original

0 28
Avatar for MusicInTheAir
3 years ago
Topics: Music, Personal, 2021, Songs, Cover

As you might know in my noise account, i'm sick at home, so i should be able to practice my singing skills, right? nope, not really, with my jaw infection, i can barely open my mouth so i can't record songs, but instead, i have plenty of time to listen to music you have suggested me, or oldies i love to hear, so i was thinking, what about different versions of some songs? There's some songs you might think that are perfect in their original way, but sometimes the same artists (or another one) create their own version that change the mood of the song, and sometimes the intentions or feelings of it. Sometimes are not great, but sometimes, they manage to make them sound epic, and even better that the original version of it. Today i will show you five that are awesome (in my opinion, of course).

One thing i have in consideration for this list is that, it's X band's version, not a simple cover, but that band's take of that song.

Disclamer: This is not a top 5, this is just a take of my own taste in music, so maybe they are not the best songs ever, but they are great for me, and hopefully for you, too.

1. Nirvana - Where did you sleep last night?

The original song is called "In the Pines" from Lead Belly, and there's a lot of versions, but the one interpreted by Nirvana, was Mark Lanegan's version, and he referred to nirvana's version is "better than his". Nirvana's version change the whole mood of this folk/blues song entirely. It makes you feel like you are in a funeral, it's a really weird, but satisfying feeling.

Lyrics:

"My girl, my girl, don't lie to me
Tell me where did you sleep last night

In the pines, in the pines
Where the Sun don't ever shine
I would shiver the whole night through

My girl, my girl, where will you go
I'm going where the cold wind blows
In the pines, in the pines
Where the Sun don't ever shine
I would shiver the whole night through

Her husband, was a hard working man
Just about a mile from here
His head was found in a driving wheel
But his body never was found

My girl, my girl, don't lie to me
Tell me where did you sleep last night
In the pines, in the pines
Where the Sun don't ever shine
I would shiver the whole night through

My girl, my girl, where will you go?
I'm going where the cold wind blows
In the pines, in the pines
Where the Sun don't ever shine
I would shiver the whole night through

My girl, my girl, don't lie to me!
Tell me where did you sleep last night
In the pines, in the pines
Where the Sun don't ever shine
I would shiver the whole night through

My girl, my girl, where will you go?
I'm going where the cold wind blows
In the pines, the pines
Where the Sun don't ever shine
I'd shiver the whole night through"

2. Rammstein - Mein Herz Brennt (Piano version)

It is very common that some bands make acoustiv versions of their own songs, but Rammstein takes it to a hole new level. This is one of the first bands i've ever heard that his acoustiv version is more terrifying than the original. The differences are evident. For example, the synth keyboard parts' tension in the original version breaks when the guitar, base and drums drops heavily, in this version, the tension caused by the piano never ends, so you can feel the awkwardness of the song every second of it, and it's so cool.

Lyrics:

"Nun, liebe Kinder, gebt fein Acht.
Ich bin die Stimme aus dem Kissen.
Ich hab' euch etwas mitgebracht.
Hab' es aus meiner Brust gerissen.

Mit diesem Herz hab' ich die Macht
Die Augenlider zu erpressen.
Ich singe bis der Tag erwacht.
Ein heller Schein am Firmament.

Mein Herz brennt.

Sie kommen zu euch in der Nacht:
Dämonen, Geister, schwarze Feen.
Sie kriechen aus dem Kellerschacht
Und werden unter euer Bettzeug sehen.

Nun, liebe Kinder, gebt fein Acht.
Ich bin die Stimme aus dem Kissen.
Ich hab' euch etwas mitgebracht.
Ein heller Schein am Firmament.

Mein Herz brennt.
Mein Herz brennt.

Sie kommen zu euch in der Nacht
Und stiehlen eure kleinen heißen Tränen.
Sie warten bis der Mond erwacht
Und drücken sie in meine kalten Venen.

Nun, liebe Kinder, gebt fein Acht.
Ich bin die Stimme aus dem Kissen.
Ich singe bis der Tag erwacht.
Ein heller Schein am Firmament.

Mein Herz brennt.
Mein Herz brennt.
Mein Herz brennt.
Mein Herz brennt.

Mein Herz brennt.
Mein Herz brennt.
Mein Herz brennt.
Mein Herz brennt."

3. Sharon den Adel - Just what I need tonight

Originally from The Dinky Toys, a pop-funk ish song. The Lead singer from Within Temptation changes completely the song, she gives personality and intention to the song, it's mindblowing the much it changes on her version.

4. Mägo de Oz - Pensando en ti

Originally from the song "Dust in the wind" from Kansas, This spanish band keeps the musical structure but they change the whole lyrics, which i didin't like at first, but still, the lyrics are well writen and they fits, so i ended liking this version.

Lyrics:

"Hay veces que
Mi alma baila tangos con la soledad
Y necesito de tabla tu amor
Para asirme a ella en mi tempestad

Pensando en ti
Paso el dia pensando en ti

Enseñame
A escuchar tus labios a leer el sol
Llévame adonde los sueños fabrican tu voz
Pensando en ti
Duermo el odio pensando en ti

¿Dónde estás?
Tengo miedo, ayúdame a caminar
Pues solo nunca yo podré encontrar
La forma de ser libre, quiero despertar
Pensando en ti

Acuno mi alma pensando en ti (paso el día pensando en ti)
Paso el día pensando en ti (paso el día pensando en ti)
Paso el día pensando en ti"

5. Inflections - Deadhead

I love Devin Townsend, and it is really difficult for me to say there some better version than his songs, but if there was someone who can do something just as good as Devin, that would be this guy, who managed to do the full band acoustic cover by himself. That's crazy, and i loved it because of it.

Well, that's it for today's article. Let me know what you think. Which song did you like? Which are your favourite covers? Let me know in the comments.

See you in the next article.

3
$ 0.00
Avatar for MusicInTheAir
3 years ago
Topics: Music, Personal, 2021, Songs, Cover

Comments