Do your future kids a favor.

28 39
Avatar for Murakamii.7
2 years ago

February 2, 2022

The world today is filled with people whose life is uninsured.

I have seen this photo from Facebook and it hurts me to think that some people may relate to this and may find this true.

Taking care of the parents after graduating college and having a job is the default action of every Filipino. It has been part of our culture to take care of our ageing parents as a way to give back to them. In fact, even when we don't have a stable job yet, we would want to give a share to provide for their needs like medication because during this time some of our parents aren't capable enough to work.

These days, I can see kids taking care of their parents. They are either working to support their parents' needs or stopped working and are taking care of their sick parents. There is no problem with this set-up because part of our culture told s us or taught us that we should take care and give back to our parents. They have raised us, educate us and took care of us even when we are already adults and now that they are incapable of supporting and taking care of themselves anymore, the children would now take over in supporting them may it be financially or physically.

There are kids who are thoughtful and loving enough and they remain as the family's support. As soon as these types of kids get a job, they would give back and support the parents. On the other hand, there are also children who have jobs but still won't give a single dime for their parents.

Which kids do you prefer? Which kid are you? Are you the type of kid that supports your parents forever? Or are you the type of kid that neglects parents even after having a good-paying job? Or do you have a timeline to which giving back to your parents have an end?

How about kids? How do you want your kids to be? Do you want to have kids that supports you financially at the end? Or do you want your kids to do their thing and achieve more of their dreams?

Let me know your thoughts.

As soon as we graduate from college. We are programmed to get a job and give back to our parents. In most cases here in the Philippines, almost all of the time and effort of our parents were spent hustling day and night to support our needs and send us to school. So our default action is to work hard and smart for us to be able to give back.

What happens when a child fails to give back?

They would be branded as selfish individuals who only thinks about himself. What if the child has dreams of his own and cannot pursue it because he felt like he is forever tied to the idea of giving back and taking care of his parents? What if he could have gone a long way pursuing his dreams using the finances that he used to support his parents?

On the other hand, what if the child already has his own family? Will he be still supporting his parents even when he has a family of his own? Yes, they can have an initiative of only giving what they can but prioritizing his own family but that would put his family's dreams on hold too.

This is why we are called the sandwich generation because we are in the middle. We are in between our own family and our parents. We are in between our dreams and our parents. We are torn between achieving our dreams and bettering ourselves and providing for our parents.

Let us stop romanticizing taking care of parents as our default action. Yes, it is true, providing for them is fulfilling and part of our duties to be their children. But how about you? What happens to you when they are out of the picture? Will you get married and have your kids doing what you did to your parents? Do you want them to hold their dreams to support you too? Would it be wonderful to be able to provide for your own and watch your children reach for the stars?

Some of our parents never knew this reality. They never realized this situation and it is perfectly fine, after all, we can sacrifice. However, let us break and stop this culture right here. Let us do our future kids a favor. Let us be insured so that in the future they won't be thinking of us. Let us give them the happiness of pursuing what they want and living their best life not worrying about us because they knew we are financially independent. We can take care of ourselves even when we are old already and have no jobs.

I am not saying that taking care of the parents now is not good. It is great as what I have said it is fulfilling. But some kids these days sees this situation as what it depicts in the future above. We are not our parent's investment plan and we shouldn't think that way. If ever we feel so, there is no use of taking care of them because we know that there is hate and negativities in the heart.

If you want to help and give back to your parents, do so. But if you are only forced because it is what the society and culture tell you, then stop.

God loves the cheerful giver. If you give to your parents cheerfully, you will be blessed with more. On the other hand, if there is some pain while you are giving, it would not have better results.

Thank you for reading. Until then.

15
$ 6.17
$ 5.82 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 9
Sponsors of Murakamii.7
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Murakamii.7
2 years ago

Comments

Yes it's sad to see that some people build a family and bore children with an intention of making them their "caretaker" when they got old. It's so common that I am not surprised to hear someone saying, "Mag anak ka kahit isa para may mag-alaga sa'yo kapag matanda ka na".

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Living our lives after we graduated. We received a lot of feedbacks and sermons to our parents. Saying you should work now, you should help us paying our bills. I think these kind of culture is becoming more toxic and adds pressure for Filipino young adults. Well it's given that we must help, but not in a forceful way.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ah huh. That must not be the case. Love should be showered to the kids so the kids would be more than willing and happy to help.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Part of their culture comes from the Chinese culture where there is a lot of respect for parents. In Western culture it is different, children make their lives apart but always looking after their parents. Only in cases where they are good children because there are many children who abandon their parents. That is not good either.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ow that's unfortunate ger. While we are looking after our parents, we should also look after ourselves, so ouf future kids won't have anything to worry about when we grow old.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's not required really, nasa atin nalang if we want to do it or nah. I'm still lucky voz di ganyan Mommy ko. I'm still staying with them and kahit papaano nakaka tulong naman ako. Sa totoo lang ayaw ko pang humiwalay sa kanila. Do I'll stay here hanggang magsawa na sila lol. It's not an obligation or what, it is just what I rrally want if that's me yeah.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Noice sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your generation should be looking after themselves so that your children are free to look after themselves. I feel it is natural to support your parents, I know I did and ended up supporting my brother and sister too, they took it for granted. Once my parents passed then I removed my negative brother and sister from my life. I don't do negative. So you look after yourself first please, promise me that!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you Uncle Ed! For the first time someone saw the same vision as I did. Taking care of your parents isn't bad. We should still do it however we should look after ourselves so our children won't be like us. They would just only have to look for themselves because we got ourselves.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly, we are on the same wavelength and I love your thinking 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am the youngest, yet, I am the one supporting the family. I mean, I am not ranting about it but I just can't stop myself from comparing my situation with other people. I want to do a lot of things in life but I am tied up with this kind of set up. Supporting my two mothers is fine with me. But giving me the full responsibility to carry my mom's whole family is so heavy already. Huhuhu. Tapos, pag di ka naka help, parang kasalanan mo pa.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Di' ba. This is what I'm talking about. Some kids are putting their plans on hold. Look after yourself too sis and make sure this ends in your generation. Your kids wont have to go through the same experience as yours.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think when we look at it as a responsibility, it will feel heavy and hard, but if we do it out of love and because we feel happy, it feels better :) But I agree with you on preparing ourselves so that our kids won't be obliged when time comes.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, we have to check out hearts first. It would be nice if we help out of love and not against our will

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Can relate to this.. Minsan nawawala freedom ng anak dhil sa expectations ng mga magulang.. I really wonder how does it feel if I'll ignore this fate.. But I guess I won't be totally happy seeing my parents suffering.. .so yes, still need to help them even if it's hard.. Besides, we have everything now because of them

$ 0.01
2 years ago

True sis. While doing that we must also make sure our future kids won't experience the same expectations we have experienced.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Important issue. Some kids who didn't turn back to their parents. it's bad issue. We need to support them. We can make them smile.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Great Mazekin. It must all come from the heart.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are a lot of kids who didn't turn back to their parents. We know that the kids shouldn't make an investment plan to their parents but as a son/daughter we should use our senses that it's our parents.

We need to give them love and support. They deserve for it. Me mamsh I always supporting my parents. I always gave them the things that they will make them happy.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That is good for you maamsh. If helping is true to your heart and in deeds, there is no problem with that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much mamsh. Parents deserve to be love and care.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako Yung anak na pg meron ako ngbibigay ako pero dati pa Yun nung single mom pa ako simula kasi nung ng asawa na ako wala na akong maibigay sa parents ko

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sandwich generation sis. Maiipit ka. Pero depende na sayo yun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga eh. Hirap ng my sariling pamilya kana tas walang wala ka din

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The illustration really had hard meaning, either way we shall change that. I think it's not the Money but should be love. When they invest love to kids, the child will do it's best to help thier parents. As now parents think money is more important that love to give so some gets rebellion. Hayst.. buy for me, I know I hold my parents untill the end hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ah huh. So it should be love, not money. Hold on to your parents because you want to not because it is what culture tells you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry but the very first time, I disagree. I know you have better theories. But sorry dear, I just can't agree.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's okay Luci!

$ 0.00
2 years ago