Day Thirteen: Favorite Book

26 34
Avatar for Murakamii.7
1 year ago

May 27, 2022

I'm sad and not proud that I haven't finished reading even a single book since I started working. Reading other users' articles here and reading at work are the only reading activities that I got to do. As much as I want to read a new book, I just can't since my daily tasks consume almost all of my time.

But during and after my days at the uni, I was able to squeeze it into my schedule. I would just borrow books from my friends back then. I had a classmate who is fond of reading. Since she can't stop blabbering about her favourite book, I tried reading it. She is into romance novels. One that is written by Nicholas Sparks. I remember I first borrowed 'The Longest Ride'. I was astonished at how the author arranged the series of events.

I got curious and then I stumbled upon Colleen Hoover's books. I started reading Confess, then Hopeless, Slammed, Ugly Love, All Your Perfects, Without Merit, Regretting You, and Verity. The list goes on. What I like about the author is that she never fails to deliver that jaw-dropping scene in her books. I'm at the uni when I was so hooked to her works. I wouldn't even sleep since I want to finish off the whole book. I used ebooks back then so it was very convenient to read even with my roommates turning the lights off. Plus, it was cheap.

Time passed by and I moved on to Steig Larsson's Millennium Series. Those were crime novels with Lisbeth Salander as the main character. This woman has an ugly childhood she grew feisty. I have read The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, The Girl Who Played with Fire and The Girl who Kicked the Hornet's Nest. All in a real tangible book. Yes, I was lucky I got a roommate whose mom loves to read books. She recommended me and I was thankful for it was a good read.

Then the pandemic came, and the sadness I felt due to my limited mobility was eased by Haruki Murakami. A Japanese author. I saw my friend on Facebook constantly posting a book by the said author. I got curious since I'm also looking up to that Facebook friend. I tried reading Murakami's Norwegian Wood and before I knew it I was already addicted to his works. I would sleep past my bedtime just to finish 1Q84. I wanted to subscribe to what happened to Aomame and Tengo. They were the main characters of the story. Kafka on the Shore is another book that made me scream and shout. It was all because of the author's cleverness to twist the story. It was fantastic for me.

Surely, reading a book is an awesome adventure to have. I'm proud of my younger self who was able to read a few books. Now that I'm older, I hardly have time to read. Surely, when things would be less hassle and light, I would pick up that hobby. If not, better luck in the next life.

Thanks for reading. Until the next read.

9
$ 6.76
$ 6.58 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.03 from @Ruffa
+ 4
Sponsors of Murakamii.7
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Murakamii.7
1 year ago

Comments

I am really jealous sa mga taong mahilig magbasa ng books, and english pa. Kasi ako di ko talaga magets no matter how hard I try 🥺

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Sus ikaw pa

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's awesome sis! I used to read novels but I don't know what I don't have the urge to read one these days :)

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Must be because of a lack of time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The last days of high forcados high school, that's the only book I know I have completed

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I have to check that out.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Doon mo pala nakuha ang name or username mo here sis. Mabook din ako nong dipa ganon kaadik sa phone. Unfortunately ngayon hindi na.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yun ang sad talaga.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Reading is actually a great hobby. It keeps ones mind active. You can still go back to your younger self and pick up that habit. Please, don't leave it

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes. I promise.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You have many books that are references for you to read and that also makes you have a broad knowledge of books like this very famous and interesting to read.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks. How about you?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I used to have books by various authors but when I was in school I only went to the library.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't just know how happy i would be if i can read a book written by my namesake. I love reading books, and most of them are in soft copies.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ah huh. Me too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah....

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Not really fond of reading books, but I read a book from the past which truly got me hooked: No Time for Goodbye novel. I love the twists of events so much hehr.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ohhh. Saving that for future read.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am a certified bookworm ❤️ I can't remember authors and all of the titles of the book I read but evry events stayed to me. To name a few, have you read books like Tell me your dreams and Holding up the universe? Those are some of the good books I read. Different genre. I am mostly in thriller and adventure rather than Love story heheh

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That is good to hear. I don't also only read love stories. As I have mentioned, there is also a crime as the theme.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Unsay feeling anang himasahon lydes heheh, dimn ko ka relate anang basa2 uys murag ingana najud ka highest level akoa katapulan mag basa2 ug mga libro bsan pag studyhanan nas exam wajud hahah

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Char jems uy

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Since I cannot buys hardbound books now. I chose to download it and save as epub so that I can read it free. I only read like 1-2 chapters a day so that there's still progress.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's what I usually do before. Great job

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So dun mo nakuha username mo.. 😁 Japanese author pla to

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes po. Opo

$ 0.00
1 year ago