Monk or Voyagers

6 47
Avatar for Munia
Written by
3 years ago

Traveler means tourist or voyagers. The story of foreign tourists or scholar or religious mendicant or ascetic has always been considered an important element of history. They played an important role in reconstructing the history of Bengal. Today I will discuss about the history of some such Chinese travelers.

Faxian:

Faxian was a Chinese pilgrim, Chinese Buddhist monk and translator. He came to India during the reign of Chandragupta II. He was the first Chinese traveler who come to India. Faxian started his journey from China in 399 AD and returned to China after 14 years. He wrote 6 books on basis his experience of traveling in India. Of these, Foguoji (A record of Buddhistic Kingdoms) is particularly noteworthy.

Xuanzang:

Xuanzang was a Chinese Buddhist pilgrim, scholar and traveler who visited India in 630 AD. He stayed in India for about 14 years.Xuanzang studied Buddhist theology with Shilbhadra, the principal of Nalanda Mahavihara University. He then wrote a book called 'Siddhi'.Xuanzang traveled to Raktamrittika near karnasuvarna, Pundranagara, Samatat, Tamralipti and Kamrup in Bengal.

Ma Huan:

Ma-Huan came to Bengal in 1406 AD as an interpreter of a Chinese delegation during the reign of Ghiyasuddin Azam Shah. He was a Chinese voyager and translator.Ma Huan saw Sonargaon as a huge commercial city. He recorded his important description about Bengal in his book called 'Ying Yai Sheng Lan'.

In my next article, I would like to discuss a few more travelers or religious mendicant of Bengal.

I hope you will stay with me those have some interest to know about the history of Indian subcontinent.

13
$ 1.14
$ 1.00 from @CryptoSmart
$ 0.14 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Munia
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Munia
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

I’m a monk too 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It was tough name though! I like the article. You made it easy..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wanted to write easily that everyone can understand :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

After the emperor Ashoka 'The Great' accepted Buddhism, he sermon to all followers of Buddhism to spread message of Gautam Buddha and in essence Buddhism. Many monks spread the message to China, Japan, South East Asia region (that include Myanmar, Phillipines, Vietnam, Thailand, Indonesia etc). When Buddhism was in at zenith in all countries (that I have mentioned above), many were wonder and curious to know more about the 'Land Of Buddha' i.e. India. From that time, many monks and voyagers started to reach out to Indian Subcontinent to know more about Administrative Structure, Governance, Political Organisation of Society, Religious, Institutions (Particularly were interested in 'Nalanda University'. Nalanda University was like World University at that time, many foreigners were came here to study about Astronomy, Physics, Mathematics, Astrology etc). In fact, Faxian and Xuanzang had writen a beautiful stories of Citizens and hardship they have to face to reach out Subcontinent i.e about journey from China to India and back one.

Thank you Madam to initiate history about Indian Subcontinent. I am following your articles now but miss the chance to write comment on last article about Emperor Ashoka.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

At first I am grateful to you for your upvote! It will inspire me a lot to do better in this sector.

Recently I have started to study about many unknown history of Indian Subcontinent for one of my working purpose, actually I have not much knowledge before. I am just learning and want to share my little information with others.

Thank you again for your contribution on my article with many information.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I know it more because last year i had studied that subject for my exam preparation. I was happy to see that you have initiated historical aspect (Mostly about Indian Subcontinent) of mankind. That's why i upvoted it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago