Book Review: Pride and Prejudice

0 9
Avatar for MsLaila
3 years ago
Topics: Books, Story

Genre: Romance

Author: Jane Austen

Rating out of 10: 5

Review:

It's one of those "It's not you, it's me" books where maybe it's not the book's fault but it's me who's just not feeling it.

To be fair with the book, it supposedly satirizes the behavior and custom of the time. You still have the lead ending up with the rich, handsome dude in the end anyway tho.

Lots of house parties coz this was the Regency era where there's a deep chasm between the well-to-do and the have nots. So So yea, you'd see these people like partying a lot and not toiling in the farm, actually working, or something like that. That's how most things happen.

They're not poor peeps after all and also why the women getting married is important. If their dad dies, off goes the riches. Must marry a rich dude now.

So I guess like in Dracula, the situation they were in just pisses me off. I also remember being puzzled that for all of Elizabeth's smarts she couldn't figure out Darcy. Alright, it's about pride and prejudice. So her pride and prejudice prevented her from figuring Darcy out. But she couldn't have done the same with effin Wickham? Like girl you have doubts about Darcy but you didn't even for a second doubted Wickham? Aren't you supposed to have wits about you?

Then again some might think it's understandable. Also, this is a reflection of society at the time.

My ratings are usually based on how the book makes me feel. So again, regardless of my feelings about it, the writing itself is alright. I mean if I'm pissed off with the story, then Austen's doing a good job of showing how ridiculous the realities of her time was. So yeah, the story is not a bad read. And definitely....

Still a better love story than Twilight.

0
$ 0.00

Comments