How Did You Know What You Were Supposed To Do?

0 19
Avatar for Morning_Star
1 year ago

A Seed Of Your Environment

Every human was born without any preconceived ideas or predetermined goals, in effect, a tabula rasa.

At first, all we cared about was food, we just wanted to eat and stay alive. Then through social interactions, both from our parents and our peers, we begin to form likes and dislikes, preferences of things in our immediate environment.

I would like to say that many of these preferences are natural and intuitive, but then the nature nurture argument becomes valid. Some of our life preferences were born out of what we saw others like and dislike, so we were actually taught to like or dislike such things.

On the other hand, some of our preferences, we can't fathom how they came to be.

How do you explain a toddler's love for animals? How do you also explain a toddler's dread for animals?


Childhood Passion Taking Shape

When I was growing up, I never really liked being out and about. I had friends, dating back from when I was as little as I can remember, but there is a joy that being in isolation gave me. So, I hung out and played a lot less than the average kid, and rather spent my time alone, doing things that really appealed to me.

Like observing ants, how they hunted, killed and dragged their food back to their base. I loved observing lizards, how they interacted, how the males fought over territories, how they mate, how the females dig up the earth to lay their eggs, etc.

I also loved growing things, animals and plants alike. We had pigeons, guinea pigs and chickens and I treated them like wonders of world, because I would watch them all day.

It is safe to say that I liked paying attention to how the world operated, I liked to know causes and effects, actions and reactions up close. But above all, I loved growing and taking care of things.

My love for animals as a very young kid remained with me as an adult and I had tried my hands in running a livestock farm and I found out that I was absolutely good at it. I bought 100 day old chicks and took care of them to maturity and none of them died or got sick. I watched over them like a mother hen, with so much love and curiosity. (I love livestock farming)

My love for living things of the lower animal classes grew towards humans too and I realized that I became empathetic towards the suffering of others and I try as much as I could to listen to them and profer opinions and suggestions and sometimes actionable solutions.

I may be carrying a backpack full of worries and personal problems, but I usually get a sense of relief and fulfilment when somebody going through their own issues get a bit of respite because of me.

I had served as a solver of problems to my peers so much that I thought I might do well as a guidance and counselor or a psychiatrist if I ever gave it a serious thought and I'd be passionate and would absolutely love it. (I could become a shrink).

So far, everything I seem to be passionate about and would love to spend my adult life doing, have been with me since I was a kid, all of them quite natural, instinctive and intuitive, except for one that I haven't mentioned.

While growing up, the eldest of my brothers was a bodybuilder, it wasn't anything fancy, but he had the basic equipment at out backyard and he was really bulky. Watching him workout and seeing him look so massive and intimidating made him look so powerful and I wanted to feel some of that power too.

So, at 18 I started working out and by 20, I was in charge of the gym at the backyard because my brother had moved out and moved on with life.

Soon, my gym grew and attracted all kinds of young folks looking to build their body, and in no time, I became something of a neighborhood Gym Instructor.

I stepped out of my zone and worked as an instructor in a modern gym, and then moved on to club security.

The job of being accountable for people's safety at the club didn't particular appeal to me, although the experience and exposure was fun but being responsible for people's muscle growth and how great they felt about themselves made me feel like I was doing something important, because hey, health is wealth.

Needless to say that I also became extremely passionate about bodybuilding and also particular about helping people grow in the gym.


Looking At The Big Picture In Retrospect

In case you aren't following, this is me adding, owning a Fitness establishment to the list of things I would love to build, which also includes owning a large livestock farm and also being a part-time shrink. Things I absolutely love.

Lately, I have been thinking a lot about the direction my life has taken and I feel unfulfilled, it feels that I have taken more than I have given. I know I have a lot to give to the world, I know the capabilities within my capacity, and I am sure I haven't given enough, I feel that what I have taken(have been given) have far outweighed what I have given.

Now, this may be in the form of material, earthly gifts from friends and family, it may also be in the form of gift and talent from the universe to me. In other words, to whom much is given, much is expected and I know I have fallen short in terms of the gifts I have been given.

Now, this has led me into wanting to start a humanitarian service and a blog for personal development. I know I have a gift to give and I have just found out where I'm going to start.

Some of us go through life, just working, earning and living, without doing things for the greater good of mankind or even anyone for that matter.

At this point in my life, everything I am doing is just a means to an end, an end that is building a business dynasty which would revolve around Agriculture & Fitness

What about you?

2
$ 2.13
$ 2.13 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Morning_Star
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Morning_Star
1 year ago

Comments