Daddy-Daughter Journal

0 17
Avatar for Morning_Star
3 years ago

6-11-2020
I met Nanu, a friend of ours who was pregnant same time as your mum. You are about 3 weeks older than her daughter and you guys have a picture together, mum carried both of you side by side her two arms.
She told me she had stopped breastfeeding her daughter for about a month now and here we are still trying to figure out a way to wean you from breastfeeding. Did I mention that you were too attached to your mum, she couldn't even go to the toilet without you chasing after her. I am talking about from when you started crawling to when you were walking. Many times you had chased after her, end up with her carrying you, sitting on the toilet. LOL. Many times...
Anyway, Nanu told me how she had stopped breastfeeding her baby and encouraged me to get your mum to stop too. I got home and gave your mum update, LOL...We agreed to start that night.
Mum fed you pap that night, close to bedtime, so you could go to bed full before the night battle starts(you suck more at nights than any other time,in fact you sleep with nipple in your mouth).
So it started, mum wore her brazzier to bed, you were officially denied access to the breast henceforth. LOL.
The night was a noisy one, you cried so loud in the dead of the night when you signaled for breast and was denied. You were instead offered a small pouch of Hollandia Youghurt which you rejected vehemently with even louder cry. Hahahaha...we really had a long and unpleasant night.
We would let you cry for a while, then offer you water,which seemed to work.

9-11-2020
It's been 3 nights now since mum stopped breastfeeding you. It's been tough having seemless night sleep, just like it was the first couple of months after you were born. You don't sleep much and we don't sleep much, you are cranky and pissed - as a new born, It had to do with stomach upset from your yet to dry umbilical cord, now at 1 year and 2 months, it's about denying you access to breast milk. LOL
I woke up to shower at 3 am and I think my noise in the bathroom woke you up, because your sleep routine is no longer smooth as it used to be when you used to have nipple in your mouth all night. Now you wake up and find it difficult to go back to sleep. I came out of the bathroom and you were wide awake, sitting and already playing with the Samsung Tab on the bed. I wore my clothes and was ready to head out to the dining where my desk is to do some writing.
Guess what happens next...yeah, you wanted to come along, you always love to tag along. You always know when someone wants to step out and you usually just either stretch out both hands begging to be carried along or you come close and hug the persons legs. Your mum and I would call it "Sugar's arrest". Hahaha
Well, you stretched out this time, from atop the bed, beckoning on me to pick you up. You usually always have your way when you do things like that and if I had left without you, all hell would have broken loose, it was 3 in the morning.
I carried you in my arms out in the living room, I just knew there wasnt going to be any writing for me, so I just put on the TV and we watched African Magic. They were showing a movie and I think the theme song captivated you and you were quiet and focused on the screen. We just stood right in front of the TV and your attention was still locked on it. When you loosened up a bit, we went into the kitchen and I dished out a little jollof rice mum cooked last night. You seemed to like rice a lot and since your usual breast-milk snacking was now off the menu, getting you to eat in the middle of the night seemed like a good idea.
You ate half of the rice I dished out and drank a lot of water, and we sat back on the couch watching the same movie. I felt you getting drowsy and sleepy again but getting you to actually sleep became an uphill task, as it usually is.

I took you back into the room to get you to sleep, nope, didnt work...your mum tried singing lullabies for you, didnt work, I carried you on arms, trying to rock you to sleep, still no luck. It can be really frustrating because you were actually very sleepy but you just cant do the honorable thing and just close your eyes like everyone else does. You usually want to suck yourself to sleep, but no more sucking young woman.

I lost my cool trying to tame you and I dumped you with mum and ran away to the parlor. Gosh! Well, she rocked you a little and you finally slept. The time was almost 6 in the morning.

Well, I still managed to write this 9-11-2020 to this point, after watching one of my favorite programs on Channel 12 on the Cable TV - Chef Gone Wild.
I guess the morning wasn't entirely lost. Lets see what the day holds for us all.

The day wasn't as eventful as the beginning had suggested, but it was okay, everyday isn't supposed to be eventful. Oh, I gave you toothpaste. Yeah, you have a liking for the minty feeling from a freshly brushed mouth, so whenever I or your mum finishes brushing our teeth, we purposely talk into your nostrils so you can smell it, and you usually chase after us to continue the routine or to lick our lips. LOL.
So I gave you toothpaste just to keep you occupied/distracted, because mum was busy in the bathroom and you were eager to go in there with her...she was washing the bathroom.
You would lick the paste, pout your lips and blow out air from your mouth like someone who just finished a nice plate of hot pepper-soup. The sight of you doing this is always funny and I would laugh out really hard.

I have been meaning to write down that you had started understanding words and phrases. Little hints of this was when you were still about 10-12 months old. You started with signalling 'bye-bye' and 'clap for yourself', then you started responding to 'give me a kiss' by drawing your mouth close to mine or your mum's, depending on who is saying it.
Now you can understand a more complex communication, like "go and give it to mummy" "go and give it to daddy". You understand and act accordingly...can you believe you are already running errands at 1 year and 2 months old? Hahaha! We usually say "go and give it to daddy/mummy when you start bugging us with your pink sandals. You always bring your sandals to me or your mum to help you put it on, and when we might not be in the mood, we just say go give it to daddy/mummy, depending on who the lazy person is at the time. Hahaha

You also always take phones from me to your mum and vice versa. We both use same phones - Gionee M5 Mini and you seem to know which belonged to whom.


You say - THANK YOU - whenever something is given to you, sometimes you say same on those occasions where you bring phones or sandals to us. You say it like - A-I-N K-H-U with a pouted lips.

2
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Morning_Star
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Morning_Star
3 years ago

Comments