On Bullying - Little Kids Can Be the Most Heartless Monsters

14 59

Ha, what a title!

"Little kids can be the most heartless monsters."

I'm not trying to gain any sympathy points with a title like that...

But it caught your attention, didn't it?

Hear me out before you tell me how wrong I am and how dare I.

How come you have time for this? You said you're so busy...

Today is a rainy day. I woke up way too early and couldn't start working or shooting a YouTube video outside due to the rain. (Okay, I could, but it makes a lot more sense to wait until the rain stops...)

I decided to try to be more social than I normally am. Maybe also because I have recently been bullied by a certain someone to tip more on read.cash...

Anyway, after having chatted with a friend and fellow read.cash author, the topic of being bullied as a child came up. As it turns out, we both were bullied as children, for different reasons, though.

I was bullied for being "fat" and for being "too smart". I always considered it to be a life lesson. After all, I had a fighting chance to get rid off the extra weight by dietary and lifestyle choices. And I could try to behave more socially acceptable.

However, as it turned out my conversation partner was bullied for having a physical disability.

This actually outraged me.

Okay, I do understand that bullying someone who is on the chubby side can make the person change something about their lifestyle - which then actually may improve their physical health. However, this benefit definitely comes at a high cost: The person's mental health.

And being bullied for "being too smart" could still be regarded as a life lesson in how to behave more socially acceptable.

But what can a child do about its physical disability?

No seriously, what can a child do about it?

Absolutely nothing.

I'm not sure if it's noticeable from the text, but I'm actually writing this with watery eyes due to the sheer unfairness and pure evil of the situation.

To my surprise, my conversation partner actually derived something positive from being bullied.

I'm glad that that is the case, but I'm not sure if I can agree with seeing anything positive there (other than she was able to cope with it).

I think bullying is destructive, evil and unnecessary.

I recently watched the Lex Fridman podcast with Vitalik Buterin, the creator of Ethereum, a complete nerd and a very thin, tall, clumsy looking guy.

Vitalik said that he was never bullied as a kid growing up in Canada. And yet, he made it really far in life and has made and is making a big contribution to humanity - both with his commitment to crypto and longevity research.

Note that he does all these amazing things without having been bullied as a child.

And you could say "well, he wasn't really prepared for the real life and now he is being called a 'pencil neck' and mean things like that".

Yes, maybe. But who calls him that? People who grew up being bullied? People who internalised "be bullied or be the bully yourself".

I say "fvck that"!

I don't think there are actually any positive effects of bullying at all.

More than 20 years after being bullied as a child for being "fat", I do work out like crazy. I do fight hard against any extra pounds, especially in the belly area. I do actually work as a part-time fitness instructor. That may or may not have happened without being bullied. And these may be considered positive effects.

However, I may have a distorted self-image of my body. I'm also super self-conscious about my weight and physical fitness to the point where I work a low-paying manual labour job well below my capabilities, because I want to be strong and fit. Not just to be healthy or attractive, but also to be able to defend myself in case someone physically attacks me.

Has that ever helped me?

No.

Has anyone ever tried to attack me?

No.

I live in a safe country, Germany, but my inner child thinks I'm living in a war zone. And a gathering of more than five people makes me feel uneasy, because I know that I would have a hard time defending myself if they ganged up on me...

So to give my opinion on the issue.

Is bullying useful?

- I don't think so.

Does it prepare the bullied for the real world.

I don't think so. Look at Vitalik. He works in a super hostile environment - the internet - where you are exposed to the collective hate of the entire world and he is doing fine. No, actually, he is doing great.

Does it help to unfold your true potential?

No, I don't think so. In my case it definitely didn't.

Are children perfect angles?

No, they have good sides and bad sides. And that's why parenting is important. We need to nurture their good sides and help them manage their bad sides.

Let's make this world a better place.

I conclude this article with this very short video from one of my favourite influencers. I discovered that guy very recently and watched a Ton of his videos. He has a talent for putting wisdom into very short videos which are so well-edited that they may pass as works of art.

(I tried to include the video here, but somehow it didn't work. Sorry, but please click the link. It's worth it!)

9
$ 12.33
$ 12.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @bmjc98
$ 0.10 from @Crackers
+ 3
Sponsors of MoreGainStrategies
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Bullying has nothing good outcome to us instead it leaves scars to our lives. I also experience being bullied by other kids at amy same age back then because of my physical appearance that makes me having low self confidence, it brings fear to me everytime im in a circle of people and isolate myself. I was once became introvert back then because of the bullies. I agree with you that parenting is important to guide and raised kids with a good attitude. Because afterall the character of the kid is first nurture inside their home.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I was a kid, I've been bullied for being thin. They called me "wangkig" and its hurts me too much honestly. Actually, I tried to dropped out my subjects for I was not feeling happy anymore going at school, for that everyday insults I've got.

As for the parents, they should be the very first ones to disciplined their children for doing so.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Ha wow, I was bullied for being too fat, you were bullied for being too thin. Another was bullied for her skin (tan). And another for her disability. It seems that bullies always find something. And especially the last two examples show how evil bullying actually is...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The case of bullying is so rampant especially with children who have it all and thinks they could just look down on people and make them feel bad about themselves.

Many times I have been bullied of my short stature and this always demoralized me and makes me thing worthless of myself most times. But when it got to a time, I stopped and do not allow their bullying affect me because I will always say positive things to myself which has made me come out brave.

I think parents needs to teach their children and make them understand every child is unique and equal.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I absolutely agree with you. We are all unique and this is something to cherish. 💚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bullying is not, and will never be, acceptable. It is the most brutal form of aggressive behaviour even without any physical contact. The trauma it leaves on victims is often for life and can damage a human being at a very young age. The prevalence of bullying, especially online, just shows how so many bad influences there are in this world, and instead of doing something to stop it, people blindly support it by keeping silent.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

I agree with you 100 percent. I absolutely love your comment. 💚💚💚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think parents should really teach their kids to be kind to others, especially those who badly need it the most. Teach the kids to never look down on others coz the side effect of getting bullied is never easy.

I was bullied many times and I did try to commit suicide at the age of 9 or 8. But I was too coward to do it and was worried that God might not forgive me and that my soul will rot in hell. And so, I just moved on and tried to be strong. It took me decades before I finally get over with my issues. I learned that if they can't accept me for who I am, I should learn to give it to myself. Now, I don't care aboutmy looks anymore, except for my pimple marks as I do want to get rid of them for good. People still look at me like I'm some kind of an alien but duh, their looks can't kill me.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

I'm very glad that you overcame that. Maybe not fully - I also didn't. We just have to continuously work on ourselves and make the best for us and make our children good people if we have some.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think we can be good parents when we have our little version of ourselves because we know exactly how it feels to be bullied. And you're right, I don't fully overcome the effects, but I'm trying my best not to get affected by their opinions towards me. It's hard, but I'm trying.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You title made me remember my childhood life when dad often punished me just to do not read book .. Tribble days those were!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I've been bullied before... When I was a Kid because of my Skin color(Tan) 😌 as I grew older I became even more disgusted with the color of my skin. but as time went on I realized that don't think about what other people will say just be yourself... so while I'm a teenager I fix myself I make myself beautiful until someone appreciates me, they take me for modeling and beauty contest.. For me is not helpful, it's hurtful... Don't know but Until now I hate my skin color 😅

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Really? I'm very surprised. I love your tan. Here in Germany everyone wants to have a sunbathing looking tan. And your skin probably doesn't age as fast as the European skin does.

I think if you lived in another part of the world, people would admire or even envy you for your skin. And I think that you are very beautiful. 💚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Filipinos don't like tan color, that's what I know hihi because I've been bullied before.

I was planning to move to another country because of this Hahahaha😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago