Love, First Dates and Life

17 47

Disclaimer: I wrote this article for a friend who wrote about love and why she can't find any. And this is my response. It is tough love. I know that. But usually, the uncomfortable truth brings us further than comfortable lies. However, keep in mind that everything I wrote comes from a place of good intentions.

And yes, writing any of this may backfire on me in a major way. As you probably know the road to hell is paved with good intentions. Let's hope this is helpful to her.

Anyway, here we go.

Hello my friend,

I really love your article and I enjoyed reading it. And it does have some truth to it. Yes, you are technically correct that it's much harder for you to do certain things due to your circumstances, but I believe the reason these men were disappointed when they first saw you was something else. (And of course, it's kind of a moonshot to try to analyse that half a world away based on a few articles I read written by you. 😅 But maybe it's a lucky analysis.)

You wrote that they knew your true self before they met you. By writing that you probably meant that you told them about your physical limitations. And yes, maybe it only hit them when they met you in real life, but I believe that they pretty much knew what they should expect - and they consciously made the decision to try. Therefore, I don't think that this is the actual reason for what you describe as a disappointment which you noticed in them.

I believe that men like feminine women. And in order to be and act feminine, you need to love yourself. Because when you do, it really shows. In your behaviour, in the way you act. Put aside your insecurities and your preconceived notions that men won't be interested in you - and be open for luck to happen to you. Because when you believe that something will fail, it definitely will fail.

I believe that your behaviour in these dates probably didn't come from a place of excitement about the good things that may happen. I believe you always had these doubts in your mind. Or even the conviction that the date will probably not lead anywhere. Ask yourself: Did you feel strong, attractive and sexy during these dates? Or did you feel insecure, vulnerable and out of your comfort zone? And ask yourself what is more attractive to men. A woman who actively flirts with them - or a woman who probably hides her insecurities and acts cold and possibly even manly? (Please forgive me if I'm guessing wrong. As I said, this is just a guess. 🙈)

I know all of the above is easy for me to say and hard for you to follow. In fact, it is even hard for me to follow my own advice - as I'm struggling with insecurities myself. Who isn't? We all have a past. And in this past we all probably experienced something traumatic. But fvck that. You are not your past. What's done is done. And what happened shouldn't limit what you're doing now.

Another life lesson m that took me decades to realise is that a date is not a job interview. You're not there to show how smart you are and how capable you are of doing the job of being a girlfriend or boyfriend. (That's literally how I went on first dates for decades - and needless to say, they led nowhere. 🙈) The first date is about building physical attraction. To get butterflies. To enjoy yourself.

By the way, it's also a good idea not to have a checklist of things you expect from your possible future partner. Do you want kids? How many? What do you think about marriage? And so on. - All of this is important, but they are not good topics for the first date. First of all, you have to figure out if you like each other and feel attracted to each other. And once you both see that you could work as a couple, it's good to find all of that out little by little.

And hey, yes, it's true. Some men like physical activities. Maybe even most men do. But not all of them. And not all the time with their girlfriends. Maybe a man who works a physically demanding job just wants to chill in his freetime. (I know I do. 😅🙈) I believe that your limitations are not actually holding you back nearly as much as you believe they do.

People commonly give the advice to just be yourself. Of course, that's BS, because it's never wrong to work on yourself and improve yourself. Instead of saying "just be yourself" I'm saying "become yourself". Figure out what you want. And try to achieve it, but accept your limits. Be happy with yourself, learn to love yourself and I'm sure that you will find someone. But please don't get too many ideas about love from Hollywood or even Disney movies. These are just as realistic as movies about Santa Clause or talking animals... 😅

But that is probably a topic for another article.

Best wishes,

Martin

9
$ 6.47
$ 6.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @bmjc98
$ 0.05 from @PVMihalache
+ 1
Sponsors of MoreGainStrategies
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Absolutely ♥️ Only you can create that most beautiful definition of love ♥️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hi bro ..i am cleaner .. your writen is best

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If you go on a first date and there is no chemistry between the two, it is better to be friends. Not all the time on a first date you meet your boyfriend or girlfriend. Without guilt, because there are people who go as you say, to their date as if they were looking for a job... hahahaha... and if they are not "selected", they begin to question their self-image and self-acceptance.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, you're right. You cannot force falling in love or developing attraction. But the correct mindset definitely helps. Because you can prevent building attraction when you treat it as a job interview. I speak from experience. 😅😂🙈🙈🙈

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahahaha. Martin!!! 🤗 Nice advice, btw. 💚

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Hehe, she didn't make the mistakes I made. 😅 That's good. 😅

I have to admit that I wrote this article as much for myself as I wrote it for my friend. 😅

I made A LOT of mistakes. That's what happens when you "learn" about it from movies. 🙈

By the way, I'm not sure if you read the final version. I published this article a bit prematurely, unfortunately. 🙈

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Holy cow! Did you really ask your date about that? Haha.

Wait, let me reread it again, and I hope your friend will finally get to her senses and listen to your advice. 😁🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, yes, I was a complete fool. 😂

I even went to a speed-dating once and just asked as many questions as possible. I wasn't even thinking about trying to build attraction. 🙈 Just going through my checklist. 🙈🙈🙈

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. At least, I was well-behaved on my first dates. 🤣🤣 I'm too well-behaved that I barely even talk. 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I actually don't think that this is a bad strategy. Men will probably think you're cute. I think many men like girls who are a little shy.

(Definitely better than manly women. 😅🙈)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

HAHAHA. Why? Don't tell me you also experience a manly typed? Lol. Well, I'm girly but not too girly, though. I'm in between. Lol.

Anyway, thank you, Martin. You've just made me smile today. When I saw your title, I thought it was about your love story. Lol. I got curious and as I read a few sentences, I just knew it was about a "friend."

She's lucky to have a friend who speaks the truth. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We have quite a few of manly women in Germany. 😅 In fact, the men are becoming more and more girly - and the women more and more manly. 😂🙈

Thank you so much for your comment. 😊 I'm glad the article made you smile. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

HAHA. I won't be surprised then if you'd become one of the girly men in the future. Lol.

And thanks for this article. I know you've already said this many times to focus on self-love first. I hope I could really apply that in real life. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It definitely takes a while. Be patient with yourself. That's a part of self-love, haha. 😁

To be honest, I was girly most of my life as I pretty much grew up without any positive male role models. 🙈 I have just started learning how to be manly and I have to say, it feels great. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Noted, Martin! Well, you're a master in this so will try my best to avoid being impatient. Lol.

So we're kind of the opposite. I grew up acting like a boy. I just realized I'm more of a girly type when I was in high school. :D Anyway, I'm glad you were able to shift from being girly to manly! The future of Germany is in the hands of people like you. :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Its chemistry at the beginning and comfort afters

$ 0.10
2 years ago

You nailed it. 👍

$ 0.00
2 years ago